Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
So yummy, so simple to make. The only thing I do differently is that I let the dough rise after making/kneading in a greased and covered bowl-- once it has risen after about an hour I punch it down and then go onto step three. After making this a couple of times I am finally getting the hang of shaping hot dog buns. We don't ever bother purchasing hamburger or hotdog buns at the store now that I've started using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am so NOT a dough maker. Seems that most every dough recipe I attempt I somehow fail at. Not this one though. I did heed the advide of other knowledgable reviewers and let the dough rise for an hour after kneading. It easily doubled in size. Then I punched the dough down, halved it, then made 6 burger buns with one half, and 8 hot dog buns with the other half. I then let them rise again for another hour or so. These we so light and delicious! What a fun recipe. Makes me feel a little better about my dough skills. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made a half batch using the portion adjustment option built into the site because I live alone and could never eat that many at once. I kneeded them for the time it said to, and let them rise covered in a towel for 45 minutes. After baking for 15 they still hadn't really risen. Very disappointed, guess I messed it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These were very tasty. A bit dense, but still tasty. I would make them again. We used these for homemade turkey burgers. With the leftovers, we just warmed them in the microwave and ate them with our meals for the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
We tried the burger rolls and they did not rise. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've been making these hot dog buns for years now and they never fail to impress. I use bread flour and just throw it all in the bread machine on dough cycle. Once I shape them I let them rise until nice and puffy and then bake for exactly 8 minutes. They are wonderful the next day for sandwiches. Although its hard to make them last that long since the kids and husband grab them off the cooling rack to eat plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy enough to make :) I sub'd in a half cup of whole wheat , and a 1/4 cup of 12 grains ... Will be making these again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RichsGoodFood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These were a hit! They were stealing them before dinner time. I forgot to flatten them a bit, so they came out round and more like rolls, but they tasted so good, no one complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saravalentine44@gmail.com
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
For white bread it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We were snowed in today and decided we wanted hamburgers but had no hamburger rolls. I found this recipe! I followed step 1 and then added everything to a bread machine and set on the dough setting. Once that was done I followed the rest of the steps. made 6 burger rolls and 6 hot dogs. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States