Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I had high hopes for these buns after reading the reviews, however I was quite disappointed. I tried to make them into hot dog buns, however the buns were extremely dense, had a pale color, and didn't finish cooking long after the recommended cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These where ok, not the flavor I was searching for though and a little denser than what I hoped (that could have been my fault though) over all it was good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
One minor tweek. Use EGG WASH on the buns before baking for the sesame seeds & make sure you have some water in the oven so they get nice light and fluffy. They need humidity. If you have an old oven like me...these tips come in handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I had a few issues with these the first time I made them. Usually I allow them to rise twice now before baking and this gives me more than the yeild but also a bigger bun. My kids however, cannot get enough. They're always asking me to make more. I have 4 kids and a carb-loving husband, so these are gone as soon as they're cool enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
If you are wanting plain bread with a soft and fluffy inside and a bit of a crust on the outside, this is that kind of bun. I just made these as rolls and served them with soup as well as some preserves. My husband and kids loved them and they didn't take hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe , and was expecting soft and fluffy. What I got was dense bread like the texture of french bread. What did I do wrong? I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Very nice and easy to make, although it needs a litte time. Awesome flavour. My wife and my guests loved them Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have done these rolls today and the result was AMAZING ! I have never imagined myself baking bread :) and I am so happy with this recipe that from now on it will be one of my favourites. I have done different shapes (Knot rolls, swirl rolls ,Cloverleave rolls)I also did a few in a muffin tray .Anyway thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieWife
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
What I love about this recipe is that it can be made in an hour. The first time I made the dough, I used a Danish Dough Whisk. It took minimal effort to knead the dough into a smooth ball. The second time, I use my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, and the dough kneaded in about 7 minutes. My tip is: turn your oven onto WARM for 2-3 minutes, then turn it off (while the dough is kneading). This creates a proofing oven, where my rolls proofed beautifully in 25 minutes. I like to brush an egg wash and sprinkle with either sesame or poppy seeds. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this hoping for a great Bun recipe but ended up with a pretty good bicuit instead. I may try it again and follow the procedure more closely next time. The end result I came out with looked nothing like the picture... then again, judging from all the other pics sent in by users, it would seem that no one gets the same result. Like I said, it wasn't what I'd consider a bun but more of a bicuit... at least for a biscuit it was a pretty good one... great with butter and jam and probably good for a chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddyDave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States