Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Adapal
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These taste great. I did add 1 tablespoon of dehydrated onion flakes to the ingredients before mixing then topped with egg wash and sesame seeds and dehydrated onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have made these buns a few times and love them! I don't really follow the directions though. I put everything in the bread machine and let it run on the dough cycle (2 hrs for my machine). When it is done I just shape it into whatever shape I want. I don't like the way the hot dog buns turn out in the recipe so I don't roll them out at all. I use them for everything. Hot dog buns, hamburger buns, sub rolls etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Fantastis Buns!!!! I followed this recipe and TJ's tip. Comes out perfect. Thank you Sally and Tj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These are so good, infinitely better than anything bought in the store. The hour and a half time is also accurate. Definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lookimjoel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Very good easy to make buns. Probably a bit heavier than I'm used to, but still very good. I made subs with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I love that it produces great results with such a short rise time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I had high hopes for these buns after reading the reviews, however I was quite disappointed. I tried to make them into hot dog buns, however the buns were extremely dense, had a pale color, and didn't finish cooking long after the recommended cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These where ok, not the flavor I was searching for though and a little denser than what I hoped (that could have been my fault though) over all it was good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
One minor tweek. Use EGG WASH on the buns before baking for the sesame seeds & make sure you have some water in the oven so they get nice light and fluffy. They need humidity. If you have an old oven like me...these tips come in handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I had a few issues with these the first time I made them. Usually I allow them to rise twice now before baking and this gives me more than the yeild but also a bigger bun. My kids however, cannot get enough. They're always asking me to make more. I have 4 kids and a carb-loving husband, so these are gone as soon as they're cool enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States