Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Tried these today as hot dog buns, turned out very well except it took about 3 times longer to rise than recipe stated. But I find that's true with all of the roll/bun recipes I've tried so it could just be me. Anyway, once I let them rise long enough, I baked as directed and they came out perfectly! I made them to serve with bratwurst rather than hot dogs and I think they are very well suited to brats, heavy enough not to fall apart on you but still light and only ever so slightly chewy! Also, while they do taste good on their own, they won't over power anything your serving them with (burgers, hot dogs, brats, Italian sausage, etc.) I only need six buns for dinner tonight, so I froze the rest, hopefully they'll stand up to the freezer because these were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This didn't rise for me but I think it's because I tried it with active dry yeast instead of instant yeast and I didn't proof it long enough. Going to try again because I'm pretty sure it was my bad rather than the recipes. Will alter rating/review once I do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These are also great as a dinner roll. I make them for the holidays and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
These are the best hamburger rolls ever!!! Never buying hamburger or hot dog rolls again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
These rolls were amazing!! They are so soft and delicious- I will NOT be buying burger rolls ever again! This really doesn't take that long to make and you can make extras and freeze for a later date. I let my dough rise for an hour in the bowl, and then kneaded it, then made into balls, then let rise for 30 minutes after that. They came out perfect! Thank you so much for a great roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey Duso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
They didn't run out but it is a nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Simply great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made these a couple of times and they have turned out great. I did things slightly different than the instructions state. Specifically, I proofed my yeast and let the dough rise for an hour before I formed it into rolls to rise a second time. Good flavor and texture overall and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MT Girl
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi Freeman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Best buns! I used my bread maker on the dough setting and followed directions after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States