Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is wonderful!!! I heated the milk, water, sugar and butter in a saucepan and then added them to the bread maker with the yeast. After 10 min I added the beaten egg, salt and flour (1 1/2 C bread flour and 3 C APF). Ran the dough cycle, punched down and shaped into 16 hot dog buns. Let rise until doubled, applied egg wash and baked. Super light and fluffy with a crunchy exterior! The best homemade buns yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe tonight for the first time. I did make a few adjustments to the original recipe. I used an additional 1-teaspoon of yeast, and I increased the sugar to 4-tablespoons. I used real butter, which added to the amazing flavor of the bun. I made the dough in my bread maker as suggested by another user. In addition, I want to share several tip to you make the perfect bun. (1) If you do not have a scale to weigh each dough ball, use a 3/4-cup to portion your dough. (2) To proof your dough (make it rise), use the “warm” setting on your oven. Before you begin making the dough, set your oven to warm on its lowest temp (mine is 145), when you get to the portioning of the dough step, turn off the oven, it will be the perfect environment for proofing for the 30 minutes required in the recipe. (3) After the 30-minute proofing time, take the dough out of the oven and preheat the oven to 400. (4) I put my buns on the top rack to keep them from burning on the bottom,. Allow them to cool and be prepared to make your burger as soon as the cool. My wife and son both said the never had a fresh hamburger bun and never want a store bought one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Have made these now 3 times. Always they are perfect, soft and delicious. This last time I did a cold rise for a slower fermentation. They were even lighter. The texter was so soft! These are the best buns I have ever tasted. I also used some of my Amish starter (recipe on this site) rather than the yeast. Gave a depth of flavor they didn't have before. I added a half cup of the starter instead of the water and added it after the Milk and butter was at temp. The starter was added once the milk/butter was added to the first flour mixture. I only cooked the milt to 110 degrees, I was worried about killing the yeast. Our wild yeast here is more like a sourdough but the Amish starter uses milk and sugar so it is a nice sweet starter with a delicate yet slightly sweet taste. Gave the buns an incredible flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I actually watched the video first and figured it looked easy enough. I even subbed in 1 cup of whole white wheat flour. I forgot to add the egg and it still came out pretty good (not super soft). I also had to put the butter mix in the refrigerator to cool it down to 120.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've tried several hamburger bun recipes and I always come back to this one. Very, very good. I use the dough setting on my bread machine. I add a bit of the warm milk, water and butter to the whipped egg, just to make sure my egg doesn't cook. Works great! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I use this recipe all the time. It works great for pulled meat sandwiches. The rolls don't come out quite as soft as I like my hamburger buns though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCBMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG best buns EVER! I put all the ingredients in the bread maker at the manual cycle. The dough turned out so soft and elastic and the buns themselves were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
So....I found that 120F is way to hot, and just might have killed my yeast. Another reviewer also noted that if the liquid is too hot to touch, then it will kill the yeast. Anyhow, this made decent cracker style pizza dough. Also, the yeast fermenting might not create enough warmth. So I was advised to turn on the oven at the lowest setting, and then turn it off. The temperature should be between 80-90F when you put the dough inside to rise. You should be able to keep your hand in the oven for a few minutes. I will try again with new yeast, and update my review. Thank goodness I only made half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These made great buns!!!!!! change the shape for sausages, hot dogs, hamburgers or subs. They hold great and I loved the comment about the bread maker - perfect every time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as specified except I put in 2 teaspoons of salt. I put the ingredients in my bread machine and used my dough cycle. Once the dough had rested for 10 minutes, I worked it until it was able to shape it into rectangle and instead of forming balls of dough and flattening them, I just used a big round biscuit cutter to make each bun. I let them rise another 1/2 hour and they came out perfect. I did rub butter on them when they came out of the oven to keep the crust soft. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States