Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by shirley sun
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
i tried this recipe today,and made a little bit change,i filled some pork sung and sweet corn inside,and it turn out pretty good.i will try to post the pictures later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOPPEL
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Best. Burger buns. EVER!!! I have never made my own burger buns before, and these turned out beyond perfect. I was a little unsure on how big to make them as I didn't know how much they would rise, so the sizes were a little all over the place. I did not have instant yeast, so as someone else suggested I used 4 tsp regular yeast, proofed it and let the dough rise twice. It rose so fast I could literally watch the buns get bigger. Oh, and I also brushed them with egg white before baking. They were dense, as so many others have stated, but not too dense. They came out so soft and fluffy on the inside that it didn't matter. And I found it nice to have dense buns versus the usual cotton ball store bought buns. I also did not think that they were too sweet. I thought they were quite perfect. And so did the kids and the hubby. For serving I sliced them, brushed them with a little butter, then toasted them on the griddle until nice and golden brown. I will never buy buns again, nothing comes even close to these. And they were incredibly fast and easy to make. I can't wait to try them for hotdogs. (Btw, leftover buns are delicious with some honey butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
So yummy, so simple to make. The only thing I do differently is that I let the dough rise after making/kneading in a greased and covered bowl-- once it has risen after about an hour I punch it down and then go onto step three. After making this a couple of times I am finally getting the hang of shaping hot dog buns. We don't ever bother purchasing hamburger or hotdog buns at the store now that I've started using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am so NOT a dough maker. Seems that most every dough recipe I attempt I somehow fail at. Not this one though. I did heed the advide of other knowledgable reviewers and let the dough rise for an hour after kneading. It easily doubled in size. Then I punched the dough down, halved it, then made 6 burger buns with one half, and 8 hot dog buns with the other half. I then let them rise again for another hour or so. These we so light and delicious! What a fun recipe. Makes me feel a little better about my dough skills. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made a half batch using the portion adjustment option built into the site because I live alone and could never eat that many at once. I kneeded them for the time it said to, and let them rise covered in a towel for 45 minutes. After baking for 15 they still hadn't really risen. Very disappointed, guess I messed it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These were very tasty. A bit dense, but still tasty. I would make them again. We used these for homemade turkey burgers. With the leftovers, we just warmed them in the microwave and ate them with our meals for the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
We tried the burger rolls and they did not rise. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've been making these hot dog buns for years now and they never fail to impress. I use bread flour and just throw it all in the bread machine on dough cycle. Once I shape them I let them rise until nice and puffy and then bake for exactly 8 minutes. They are wonderful the next day for sandwiches. Although its hard to make them last that long since the kids and husband grab them off the cooling rack to eat plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy enough to make :) I sub'd in a half cup of whole wheat , and a 1/4 cup of 12 grains ... Will be making these again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RichsGoodFood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These were a hit! They were stealing them before dinner time. I forgot to flatten them a bit, so they came out round and more like rolls, but they tasted so good, no one complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States