Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This recipe is fantastic!!! I used half all-purpose flour & half whole wheat flour. I don't eat eggs so I substituted 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle & continued with step 3. They turned out light, fluffy & delicious! I won't be buying store-bought buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These buns were easy to make and so delicious. my husband was amazed at how light and fluffy they were. My buns were a little big so next time i will just make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These buns turned out amazing! They were light and fluffy, and tasted exactly like hamburger buns. Definitely could not make 12 buns out of the amount of dough. We ended up making 8 large buns, and had enough dough left over for a small bun. So one could probably make 9 regular sized buns, or just 8 super sized buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
i used whole wheat flour and apf, still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I didn't really care for the taste of these. I used part whole wheat flour, but there was nothing special about them...I am not sure what it was that didn't do it for me...but it just seems to be an okay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This turned out great, like other people have said a little dense, but they turned out great, and everyone at my bbq loved them. I only say dense because it was more like a bun than bread and people might expect it to be like light fluffy bread. I did let the dough rise for about 3-4 hrs each time I made this and I think this helped a lot, and then after I shaped them let them rise for another hour. I made hot dog and hamburger buns, both were great. I also used slightly less flour than the recipe called for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Best bun recipe. I used various all-purpose flours in the mix: rye, whole wheat, and white. They turned out perfectly! This is my new base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Really good buns, nice and big. Made these in breadmaker, turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Thanks for this great recipe. I have tried many bread recipes but this is by far the best in terms of time, taste and texture. I needed the buns asap and I made it all within the hour. I guess I like the fact that by half an hour it had risen and ready to be baked. Although the buns feel heavy, they were so soft and scrumptious. Thank you Sally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This might be the best bread I've ever made. I substituted 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour, then made 2 hot dog buns and 4 large burger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villain_s_deeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States