Burek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is so far away from traditional burek recipe. Try this instead. You can still use phyllo instead of making own. http://www.whats4eats.com/meats/bosanski-burek-recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Having a boyfriend from Bosnia i love making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
It was way too dry. Hard to eat alone. Dipped it in yogurt sauce from this site. Helped it tremendously. Disappointed. I wanted to really like it. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I really want to like this, I really did. I had an authentic version made by a Serbian once and that inspired me to try it myself. It was really dry. I'm not sure if it was because I used lean beef or that I drained too much fat off, but it was way too dry. I also think that the amount of spices was a bit much. I will definitely try this again though but may tailor the recipe a bit differently and try others' advice and get that spice vegate(?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe when I had a little too much phyllo dough in the fridge. I ate it just as it came out of the oven and wasn't a huge fan. By chance I was hungry and went to try it again the following night and found the flavored to be much better! The allspice defiantly blended better to the beef after having time to soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stupid Girl
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
The potatoes were not cooked all the way through, even though the outside was beyond golden brown and nearly burned. The dough was so crackly and brittle. My soon-to-be ex boyfriend is Bosnian and he doesn't like it. Or maybe I'm just a bad cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I make Burek but I make it in around 10 inch cake pan, I layer the phyllo dough then about half way I put in amixture of pork sausage and ground beef then layer it the rest of the way. My brother-inlaw is from Macedonia and this is how they make it. I think it looks like an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy
Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
instead of using a whole tablespoon of allspice, i did a 1/2 tablespoon of allspice and a 1/2 tablespoon of veggeta instead. also, when i was mixing the beef/potatos/onions, i added a little bit of olive oil and water so it wouldnt be dry (but dont over-do it). i added enough water to where the meat and veggies would soak it up but in 5-10 minutes there wouldnt be any water left on the bottom. enjoyed the recipe it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
great meal. I am from Bosnia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love burek. You can put anything in burek, I usually put spinach and sour cream in my burek, and honestly its "to die for." ahah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States