Burek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
We LOVE Burek!! This is pretty close to the Burek that they make in Montenegro. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Byrek rocks, one of the best home made meals in Albania. i grew up with it and i'll eat till death set us apart. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
great meal. I am from Bosnia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I never thought of making it myself but it seemed simple enough so I went for it. As with most recipes, I adjusted a little but it turned out great! Svaka Cast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love burek. You can put anything in burek, I usually put spinach and sour cream in my burek, and honestly its "to die for." ahah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious and so similar to the burek I would get from a nearby Bosnian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Really good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great!! It wasn't spicy because it's not supposed to be. Being from a Serbian background this is what it's supposed to taste like!! odlican!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I loved it!!!! Though the recipe says layer two sheets of phyllo, and I did, and think I will layer more next time! I love the flaky pastry. Otherwise, I wouldn't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is very authentic taste to it. I see a lot of complains about rolling the dough. I actually make my own phyllo dough as do most bosnians so when we use thr roll technique the dough is more water based. Buy you can always stack eith the store bought phyllo. My father loves it this way and since it does take a long time to dry your own homemade phyllo I just used the store phyllo and stack with layers. Also I dont use allspice, I guess i make it a little past the original by adding cumin to the recipe it really gives it a deeper taste. And I love the natural yoghurt but for those unable to get it you can always use butter milk and dip it in the buttermilk or even sour cream and just dip it like that. Also with this you can feel free to expirament with different fillings I love cheese filling, I just take some cottage cheese one egg and a little salt, some add spinach its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States