Burek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was very tasty. It was much milder/blander than I expected with the given seasonings. I accidentally undersalted since I had seasoned the ground beef but forgot to add more seasoning after adding the potatoes. It was slightly dry--I might moisten with a little broth next time. I used one small Yukon and one small sweet potato. I wonder about adding chopped spinach or peas or shredded carrots next time. Definitely worth trying again; I've never had this before but seems like it could be a good comfort food and is easy to make. I used too many sheets of phyllo so it wouldn't easily bend so I left it in long tubular rolls. I notice a 16 oz. box of phyllo contains 40 sheets (5 sheets per serving), so next time I would use that as a guide. I was confused and didn't intially realize that this should create 8 individual rolls, and perhaps only uses half of a 16 oz. pkg. of phyllo if only using 2 sheets per roll. I would think they could be shaped into a round spiral easier with fewer sheets of phyllo. I ended up with five long rolls. Definitely worth trying again. Kids and hubbie all ate and liked. We only ate about half of this so I would think it could easily serve 6 with a side dish. Thanks for sharing your recipe--I love trying new food combinations and the allspice really intrigued me. I might even add a little more allspice next time. And maybe minced apple. Hopefully fruit or other veggie additions would not completely destroy any ethnic authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
We LOVE Burek!! This is pretty close to the Burek that they make in Montenegro. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wanted to try something new and different and this looked good! Entire family was doubtful as we were cooking it but it turned out delicious! Need a recipe for the yogurt sauce to serve with it...we tried it with a variety of toppings (honey mustard was the best!). We doubled the recipe and had a lot left over, it's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I too wanted to try something different and am very glad i did. This was definately filling, but beware it will stink up your kitchen with all that onion lol. The crispyness of the filo and the spices...thought it was awesome, had it with a salad and dipped them in a sourcream/vinegar (light). Awesome, even my kids (6 & 7) liked it. I will be making again:) TYSM for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Really good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have been cooking for many years and enjoy trying different cultures foods. I decided to try my hand at making this because of the reviews and the fact that I've never made Bosnian food before. The meat turned out great but was dry. It needs a sauce to cover it or dip it in. One of the reviewers said that it was difficult to roll into spin wheels with more than 2 sheets. I can tell you with only using 2 and even trying 1 that rolling into spin wheels with packaged phyllo isn't possible. I tried with 2 and then with 1 and it just wouldn't work. My rolls ended up breaking. I think a softer wetter dough is necessary to make them into spin wheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I wanted to like this, but I didn't. A tablespoon of allspice to a pound of lean ground beef is thoroughly overwhelming. After tasting the filling with allspice/paprika/salt/pepper I knew I needed something else, so I looked for other versions of burek on the internet. I found recipes that also called for dill & parsley, so I added those. That still didn't cut it for me, so I added ground cayenne pepper, which made it tolerable, though no longer authentic. My husband liked the finished product, but I did not. 2 sheets of phyllo dough is wrappable if you are experienced with working with it; I'm not, but by the last one I had the hang of it and could make the snails. I had leftover phyllo, so I filled it with a mixture of honey, chocolate chips, and cranberries and rolled it up the same way, and basted it with butter too, for a "dessert" phyllo. I guess allspice is just not to my taste, but thank you for sharing your family's recipe. I enjoyed making them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I wanted to like this too! I was thinking...onion, potato, hamburger, butter, yum, you can't go wrong with comfort food! I was wrong. I think it is the spices and potato, I don't know. I have to honestly say that this is the most blah tasting dish I have ever made. At first, I was thinking the amount of spices would be too much, but went ahead and made it as the recipe called for. To me, you really don't taste anything, it is like the flavors all cancel each other out. The only redeeming aspect to making this was the note from another reviewer that suggested something sweet for the leftover dough. I used cream cheese and dribbles of butter in mine and wish I had made more of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I never thought of making it myself but it seemed simple enough so I went for it. As with most recipes, I adjusted a little but it turned out great! Svaka Cast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
this recipe was very good. i cooked the beef with the same amount of salt and pepper that i usually use and i didnt think the recipe was bland at all. it was a very diffrent kind of recipe and my family loved it. ive already made it a bunch of times and will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States