Burek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I really want to like this, I really did. I had an authentic version made by a Serbian once and that inspired me to try it myself. It was really dry. I'm not sure if it was because I used lean beef or that I drained too much fat off, but it was way too dry. I also think that the amount of spices was a bit much. I will definitely try this again though but may tailor the recipe a bit differently and try others' advice and get that spice vegate(?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe when I had a little too much phyllo dough in the fridge. I ate it just as it came out of the oven and wasn't a huge fan. By chance I was hungry and went to try it again the following night and found the flavored to be much better! The allspice defiantly blended better to the beef after having time to soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stupid Girl
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
The only problem I have with this recipe is that it says to cook the Burek between 20-30 minutes. Mine were nearly burnt after just 15 minutes in the oven. I also substituted the Allspice for Vegeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I make Burek but I make it in around 10 inch cake pan, I layer the phyllo dough then about half way I put in amixture of pork sausage and ground beef then layer it the rest of the way. My brother-inlaw is from Macedonia and this is how they make it. I think it looks like an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy
Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
instead of using a whole tablespoon of allspice, i did a 1/2 tablespoon of allspice and a 1/2 tablespoon of veggeta instead. also, when i was mixing the beef/potatos/onions, i added a little bit of olive oil and water so it wouldnt be dry (but dont over-do it). i added enough water to where the meat and veggies would soak it up but in 5-10 minutes there wouldnt be any water left on the bottom. enjoyed the recipe it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
great meal. I am from Bosnia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love burek. You can put anything in burek, I usually put spinach and sour cream in my burek, and honestly its "to die for." ahah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My husband helped a coworker who is from Bosnia build a deck on his house. His wife prepared them a lunch of Berek and pickled veggies. I did some research and have tried to recreate berek and this recipe is really good. I don't know if its our American taste buds but I too thought it was a little bland. I made a spice mixture of garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, salt, pepper and a little dried oregano. I boiled the chopped potatoes for 5 minutes and added to the browned beef and onion with the spice mixture. I used 3 phyllo sheets per berek and brushed melted butter to seal. I tried the snail shape and it broke so I just rolled into a tube and put them next to each other. They were flaky and delicious. I made a spread of sour cream, dried dill and garlic powder. I love allrecipes.com because you can find a recipe that you have never tried to make before but can tweek it and make it your on that your friends and family love. Thanks, So GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The reason this does not taste good is because it is missing a key seasoning called Vegeta. Vegeta is used in almost all Bosnian dishes. You can usually find it for a couple of bucks in any European, Greek, or Bosnian grocery stores. If you can find this and omit the allspice you will taste a huge difference. I hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is very authentic taste to it. I see a lot of complains about rolling the dough. I actually make my own phyllo dough as do most bosnians so when we use thr roll technique the dough is more water based. Buy you can always stack eith the store bought phyllo. My father loves it this way and since it does take a long time to dry your own homemade phyllo I just used the store phyllo and stack with layers. Also I dont use allspice, I guess i make it a little past the original by adding cumin to the recipe it really gives it a deeper taste. And I love the natural yoghurt but for those unable to get it you can always use butter milk and dip it in the buttermilk or even sour cream and just dip it like that. Also with this you can feel free to expirament with different fillings I love cheese filling, I just take some cottage cheese one egg and a little salt, some add spinach its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States