Bunyaculta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This tastes good, but the portion size is definitely NOT for 2 people! It's more like 6-8. I'm not sure how 2 people could down all of this, particulary with bread and veggies. A VERY heavy dish, but easy to make. I used canned garlic and ended up dumping in a whole container (very garlicky but good), just under 1 cup. I also reduced the half and half to 5 cups. I've read previously you can use 2% or skim and blend in about 1 cup of half and half to make this dish healthier. If you do reduce to 5 cups, I would recommend using 3/4 cup butter with it. Don't worry about the anchovies, I was concerned they wouldn't "melt" and tried breaking them up... They cook and basically crumble into the sauce, so you can literally just dump them in. A nice and different recipe, just a HUGE portion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We have been making it for years just like your recipe. Please keep in mind when you cook this, it is a dipping sauce and nothing more. Please try not to thicken it defeats the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmijwashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Girard, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
It was extremely delicious, and also easy to make. However, the soupy texture really got to me, so I'm not sure if I'll make it again. To be fair, my fiance loved it so much that he wanted it for two meals in a row! Also, this makes much more than 2 servings! I would say at least 6. So be forewarned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I love anchovies so this was not my first rodeo, but this recipe was awful!!! I gave it two stars because oddly enough the picky 2 year old liked it and it was easy to make. As for everyone else we gave it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I don't understand what went wrong. This never thickend up. The directions are really vague, it says to cook it until it is thick, but it doesn't say how long that would take. Also, In spite of all the garlic I put in this it didn't taste garlicky at all. The butter separated and floated to the top of the sauce. The anchovies only gave this a slightly fishy taste but did not make it salty. This really tasted like warm milk. I've had bagna cauda before and it was fantastic, but this recipe is horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I'm giving this a four merely becuase my boyfriend really liked it, which is amazing since he is the King of Picky. I didn't much care for it, but I will probably make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I have learned that in the Italian countryside, it matters not what it is called, but that it is an awesome dish. My family has served this for years. We call it bunya cauda. I think it really just depends on the family for its pronunciation. We have substituted this for the traditional Christmas dinner. We tend to serve it with regular cabbage, bell peppers, cauliflower, broccoli and just basically our favorite veggies & italian bread. In my experience in making it, people either love it or hate it. Its all about the garlic! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCTankerWifeEgg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This is actually called bagna calda. It means 'hot bath'. This was a quick and easy recipe and I liked the idea of serving it w/ chinese cabbage. I'd never tried that before. We usually just have raw veggies and crusty bread or foccacia with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I come from an Italian family and have been eating Bagna Caulda for 50 years. We use heavy cream instead of half-and-half. Pickled elephant ear or oyster mushrooms and celery are good for dipping also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I have a recipe from an Italian friend and he calls this Bana (sp) Calda and uses shrimp, steak, chicken, mushrooms and zucchini. The "Calda" is pretty similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States