Bunny Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cara
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe! However, the dough seemed to be quite dry. I added another couple splashes of orange juice and then it was perfect to work with. Also made the cookies a little thicker and baked for 9 1/2 minutes so they have a crunchy edge but very soft too. For the icing I suggest making a simple icing with powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla. I used 2 1/2 cups (one box) powdered sugar, about 7-8 tablespoons 1% milk, and approximately 2 tsp vanilla. Measure the vanilla to taste. You want the consistency to be slightly thin at first (but not dripping off the cookie) as the icing will start to thicken. Overall very easy to make and can be used for tons of cute cookie ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These were very yummy, but very hard to roll out and very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Came out great, but a little firm to taste. I didn't have oj so just squeezed what I could from an orange and then used the zest--may have needed more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJane1010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Baked these cookies afew times. Came out light and crunchy even without the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Fine sugar cookie. A little more crunchy, less soft consistency than some other recipes. We frosted ours and the orange flavor didn't come through at all. Basically I'd say a regular sugar cookie recipe, nothing extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was a nice change from the usual sugar cookie recipe! I made it exactly as directed, with the exception of lemon zest instead of orange (it was all I had).The orange juice gave a pleasant but not overpowering flavor, which is what sets it apart. It is also very convenient in that the dough does not need to be chilled. The dough appeared dry in the mixing bowl, but then when I picked it up and squished it together it was able to roll out nicely (you have to be more careful with the cutout shapes though because they are more likely to fall apart than ones made from other doughs). We weren't big fans of the RedHots though- they just don't seem to go well with sugar cookies. And these cookies definitely taste better frosted! Thank you for the recipe- I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
i took them out ouve the oven and they taste so good and i loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Yummy~! this was my first sugar cookie. A hint of orange was so yummy. Plus this is nice and soft, but not too soft. I'm giving this 4 just so that i have room just in case if there is anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Has anyone tried doing this recipe in 1/2 only? I tried it, only needed a 24 or 36 batch of cookies, but I got very bad results... the dough was very crumbly and rolled out like a pastry dough. After cooked, it was a little tough (ok with a hot drink), and you couldn't taste much flavour. I do like the idea of this recipe as an Easter Cookie... We get a little tired of the standard sugar cookies right after christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Really good sugar cookies! I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup (but I changed the servings to 36 because I only wanted to use ½ cup of margarine) and I used one very large egg. I omitted the red hots, and I glazed the cookies with a glaze consisting of icing sugar and orange juice. My three-year old then went crazy with the Easter-themed sprinkles. :) The orange was a nice change, and the lesser amount of sugar made them less sweet enough that my husband (not a fan of sweets) enjoyed. Thanks so much for sharing, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States