Bunjal Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I doubled the sauce, and diced the chicken after cooking. Also added 3 carrots, sliced, and a can of green beans for some veggies. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Followed some other comments adding more of the spices. Made on stove top with chicken breasts cut up. Use 1/2 can tomato paste, 1 or more cups chicken broth and 1/2 can crushed tomatoes and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Absolutely loved it. I doubled the sauce recipe after reading reviews and used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken. This recipe was so easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Thank you for giving me such a quick, easy, healthy, and most importantly, amazingly yummy recipe to start with!! I've added my stove-top version to your custom versions tab. Kept your delicious blend, only adding some paprika and cayenne because I love my grub extra spicy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julieta Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made as the recipe states, no substitutions. It was delicious and easy to prepare. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very good flavor. Like some, I used precooked chicken. (I used boneless, skinless breasts that I sauteed in EVOO until they were no longer pink. I put the garlic in here and sauteed the chicken and garlic together.) I made the sauce separately and tripled it. When the chicken was done, I put the sauce in the skillet and let it simmer for 5 or 10 minutes longer. I served over steamed rice from my rice cooker. (So easy!!) The sauce was spicy, but more warm than hot. I would add less salt next time. Definitely worth doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My daughter and I recently tried Indian cuisine for the first time and fell in love. I searched for something close to Vindaloo and came across this. I didn't have tomato paste so I substituted tomato sauce roughly about 1/4 cup. No garam masala so I substituted ground cumin, coriander, cinnamon, and ginger. It came out very, very good and I would definitely make this again. Paired it with basmati rice and a salad. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonzwifey2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was very good. I added about 1/4 tsp. of red Indian Chili powder, and a dash of coriander. I also used a little bit more curry powder. I was cooking for 3 so I used about 1lb of chicken and I didn't have to make extra sauce. I served it over Basmati Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Wonderful flavor, thank you so much for submitting this simple and delicious recipe. I took note of the other reviewers' comments. I used 2 large split breasts and doubled the tomato paste and water (used 1/2 cup with the initial sauce mixture). I cooked the chicken 30 minutes after putting the sauce and onions on the chicken. After cooking I removed the chicken from the dutch oven and added a little all purpose flour to the sauce to thicken it, removed the skin from the chicken and served on a bed of rice. Very happy with how this turned out - moist and delicious. It's really all about the sauce, which I ladled generously over the chicken. If you like Indian food you should definitely try this recipe and tweak it to your personal tastes - a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montpelier, Virginia, USA
Photo by camp0433
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cooked it with two cut up chicken breasts on the stove and added double sauce. It was very good with brown rice, the roommate also enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States