Bundt Dutch Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I give this 4 stars because everyone loved this cake but i'm not a huge fan. It's not super sweet (which is why everyone else loves it) but i've made this cake so far 2 times. Keeper recipes for family events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made as directed. Like other users have stated, 70 minutes is too long. I baked it for 65 minutes and the outside was still a darker tan. Next time I will try 60 minutes. The taste itself was great. Next time I may add a little more vanilla and cinnamon. Another cook added 1/2 cup of sour cream. This may help make the cake a little more moist. For the topping, I used leftover cream cheese frosting (cream cheese & powdered sugar). Definitely will make again, but decided on four stars because the oven time seems off and no topping was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great cake!I added 1/2 cup sour cream and then put some diced walnuts on top of each apple layer! Eve tone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flutterbyjane
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
It was ok but kind of lacking something. Maybe use some brown sugar and more cinnamon in the batter next time. Some people say it is better second day, will try a piece tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Although I have not yet tasted the cake, the smell is fantastic! ***I used a 10" - 12 cup bundt pan and the batter almost came up to the rim and as it baked it came up about and inch above the pan. Can't wait to taste...birthday cake for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Thanks for sharing your recipe. I've made this a few times now. Like the others, I find cooking time to be a bit less than stated - 50mins in my oven. As I made it this time in a castle shaped silicone bundt cake mould, I had to increase the volume and didn't want big lumps of apple. I grated the apple instead of slicing. I also added a tsp of bicarbonate of soda and added a little more liquid. This does make quite a heavy but delicious coffee type cake and in my opinion is well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Here's the deal with this recipe. It tastes great, and is easy to put together, but it is pretty difficult to get the middle baked without over baking the outside. I made it twice and the first time the outside was perfect, and the inside was gooey. The second time I baked it for 10 minutes longer and the inside was perfect, but the outside was way too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This cake is quick and easy and is a favourite of my family and myself, every time turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was fabulous. It reminded me of an apple cake that Mom used to bake. I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I just made this tonight and am already thinking about using other fruit in place of the apples. The cooking time was right on for me - 70 minutes. I was really worried about the cake sticking to the bundt, but it ended up slicker than a trout and slid right out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States