Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is the first bumbleberry pie I have ever made or tasted and it is divine!! (After searching the internet and reading up on the history of "Bumbleberry " pie, I decided on this recipe because it seemed like the tastiest mixture of fruit, and I was not dissapointed.) I have made 5 of them already. I have to say that the pie crust is very easy to make, as well as light and flaky, but it was missing the flavor that butter gives to a crust, so I think I will use some butter in it next time. Try it! It's a wonderful addition to your pie recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamcorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe! I turned this into a cobbler to cut down on the cholesterol. I eliminated the pie crusts and substituted a crumb topping made from brown sugar, oatmeal & walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These pies are excellent- my husband loves fruit pie and he said that pies don't get any better than this! I used frozen mixed berries(I cut up the whole strawberries) and rhubarb and did not thaw the fruit. I also made the crust with half unsalted butter and half shortening and increased the salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, dotted pie filling with butter and brushed crust with milk and sprinkled with sugar crystals. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I made this recipe without the rhubarb and it was a hit. Everyone loved it. I did not use all the dough and at 350 degrees the pies still needed to cook for an additional 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Ok, so I used this recipe and comments as a "guide!" I used frozen mixed berries, rhubarb, an apple (total fruit about 6 cups) and Pillsbury pie crusts. I partially defrosted and drained the fruit. Used one cup of sugar, 1/3 cup flour and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of tapioca. I made one pie and it was fabulous! I will make this again! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This pie was excellent. I used my own crust, frozen berries and fresh granny smith apples. I defrosted the rhubarb slightly so it would bake at the same time as the berries and apples. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A 5 out of 5!!! This pie is terrific. Normally, I have a difficult time making good pie dough, but this one was absolutely delightful, both to work with and to eat. :) I didn't have time to chill it 4 hours, so I only chilled it for 1 - and it still was a dream to roll out. I used my own frozen raspberries, blueberries, and rhubarb in this recipe, and the fresh apples called for. By the time I put that into my pie crusts, there simply wasn't any more room for the strawberries - so I left them out, and didn't even miss them. One thing I would suggest: serve this pie when it's totally cooled off, *not* warm from the oven. I served it warm, and the juice from all the berries made it really runny. I was a little upset at first, thinking I didn't add enough flour or something, but when it cooled off, it was a perfect consistency and thickness. I will be saving the pie dough recipe for all my pie recipes from now on, and I'll DEFINITELY be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Fantastic recipe!!! Made the pies yesterday and my husband & grandson just loved the pie. Took one to my ill neighbor & her husband. They also enjoyed raved about it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Great recipe! I made it today to take with me to a dinner party. Rave reviews all around :) Easy too. I used my grandma's pie crust recipe, but followed this one exactly for the filling. Just tart and sweet enough. Will definitely make again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
That's a good pie. I didn't put in the rhubarb because we don't like it and it was wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States