Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is the first bumbleberry pie I have ever made or tasted and it is divine!! (After searching the internet and reading up on the history of "Bumbleberry " pie, I decided on this recipe because it seemed like the tastiest mixture of fruit, and I was not dissapointed.) I have made 5 of them already. I have to say that the pie crust is very easy to make, as well as light and flaky, but it was missing the flavor that butter gives to a crust, so I think I will use some butter in it next time. Try it! It's a wonderful addition to your pie recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamcorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe! I turned this into a cobbler to cut down on the cholesterol. I eliminated the pie crusts and substituted a crumb topping made from brown sugar, oatmeal & walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These pies are excellent- my husband loves fruit pie and he said that pies don't get any better than this! I used frozen mixed berries(I cut up the whole strawberries) and rhubarb and did not thaw the fruit. I also made the crust with half unsalted butter and half shortening and increased the salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, dotted pie filling with butter and brushed crust with milk and sprinkled with sugar crystals. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I made this recipe without the rhubarb and it was a hit. Everyone loved it. I did not use all the dough and at 350 degrees the pies still needed to cook for an additional 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Ok, so I used this recipe and comments as a "guide!" I used frozen mixed berries, rhubarb, an apple (total fruit about 6 cups) and Pillsbury pie crusts. I partially defrosted and drained the fruit. Used one cup of sugar, 1/3 cup flour and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of tapioca. I made one pie and it was fabulous! I will make this again! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This pie was excellent. I used my own crust, frozen berries and fresh granny smith apples. I defrosted the rhubarb slightly so it would bake at the same time as the berries and apples. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A 5 out of 5!!! This pie is terrific. Normally, I have a difficult time making good pie dough, but this one was absolutely delightful, both to work with and to eat. :) I didn't have time to chill it 4 hours, so I only chilled it for 1 - and it still was a dream to roll out. I used my own frozen raspberries, blueberries, and rhubarb in this recipe, and the fresh apples called for. By the time I put that into my pie crusts, there simply wasn't any more room for the strawberries - so I left them out, and didn't even miss them. One thing I would suggest: serve this pie when it's totally cooled off, *not* warm from the oven. I served it warm, and the juice from all the berries made it really runny. I was a little upset at first, thinking I didn't add enough flour or something, but when it cooled off, it was a perfect consistency and thickness. I will be saving the pie dough recipe for all my pie recipes from now on, and I'll DEFINITELY be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Fantastic recipe!!! Made the pies yesterday and my husband & grandson just loved the pie. Took one to my ill neighbor & her husband. They also enjoyed raved about it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Great recipe! I made it today to take with me to a dinner party. Rave reviews all around :) Easy too. I used my grandma's pie crust recipe, but followed this one exactly for the filling. Just tart and sweet enough. Will definitely make again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
That's a good pie. I didn't put in the rhubarb because we don't like it and it was wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States