Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Mrs. D
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This makes such a juicy flavorful pie! I substituted cornstarch for tapioca. Had never tried rhubarb, pleasantly surprised. I would recommend including the apples if you do the rhubarb because they compliment each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I got rave reviews from all the neighbors I made this for! I did not have raspberries on hand, so I supplemented with additional rhubarb and strawberries. I also did not have tapioca, so I took the advice of another reviewer and used cornstarch and water. So good! I wish it were still summer so I could make it again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Yummy! I used store-bought pastry and just used the filling part of the recipe... delicious! Just how bumbleberry pie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I needed to make a pie and didn't have time to run to the grocer's. I used apple-rhubarb jam instead of sugar, arrow root instead of tapioca, added blackberries, and dropped the rhubarb and lemon juice. Still delicious! What a great pie! This recipe was so forgiving of substitues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I figured this pie would be delicious with whatever you put in it, and I had a large amount of strawberries, blueberries and nectarines in my fridge that needed to be used up quick. I halved the recipe for one pie and used my three fruits and as one reviewer suggested, used 4T cornstarch in place of the tapioca since I didn't have any. I also used a storebought crust, just being lazy I guess. So yummy, not too sweet, a little on the tart side from my nectarines, it's just a good all around recipe that you can tailor to whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is my new favorite pie! I left out the apples, because we don't like them, and it was still delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is to pre-cook the bottom crust for a few minutes. Mine wasn't as brown on the bottom as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was by far the best pie I have ever tasted! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It turned out absolutley perfectly! I will make this one again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Off the (pie) chart. :-) This makes a fabulous pie. My husband didn't want me to give away the second one. It fully qualifies for REAL whip cream or the "good stuff" ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
The 1st time I used the crust recipe given. It is beautiful to work with, but I prefer the taste of my own. The filling is fabulous! Give it ample time to cool or the berries will ooze everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
YUMMY!!!! I did not use strawberries or rhubarb, but some apples, raspberries,blueberries and dried sweetened cranberries. It was a little runny, so I would add some cornstarch next time. The taste was out of this world-Great Recipe! Oh, I used a different crust recipe. I had some left and made one with a crumb topping too. SOOOOO GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States