Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the perfect pie. My favorite. Note: I thought the pie was a little thin, so I double the filling recipe. As a result, the tapioca never cooked all the way. Next time I'll experiment with instant tapioca. Update: Instant tapioca is no good. The texture of the whole pie was really gooey and weird, and I missed the texture of the regular tapioca beads. It is definitely worth using regular tapioca even if that means sacrificing the deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. D
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This makes such a juicy flavorful pie! I substituted cornstarch for tapioca. Had never tried rhubarb, pleasantly surprised. I would recommend including the apples if you do the rhubarb because they compliment each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I got rave reviews from all the neighbors I made this for! I did not have raspberries on hand, so I supplemented with additional rhubarb and strawberries. I also did not have tapioca, so I took the advice of another reviewer and used cornstarch and water. So good! I wish it were still summer so I could make it again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Yummy! I used store-bought pastry and just used the filling part of the recipe... delicious! Just how bumbleberry pie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I needed to make a pie and didn't have time to run to the grocer's. I used apple-rhubarb jam instead of sugar, arrow root instead of tapioca, added blackberries, and dropped the rhubarb and lemon juice. Still delicious! What a great pie! This recipe was so forgiving of substitues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I figured this pie would be delicious with whatever you put in it, and I had a large amount of strawberries, blueberries and nectarines in my fridge that needed to be used up quick. I halved the recipe for one pie and used my three fruits and as one reviewer suggested, used 4T cornstarch in place of the tapioca since I didn't have any. I also used a storebought crust, just being lazy I guess. So yummy, not too sweet, a little on the tart side from my nectarines, it's just a good all around recipe that you can tailor to whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is my new favorite pie! I left out the apples, because we don't like them, and it was still delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is to pre-cook the bottom crust for a few minutes. Mine wasn't as brown on the bottom as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was by far the best pie I have ever tasted! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It turned out absolutley perfectly! I will make this one again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Off the (pie) chart. :-) This makes a fabulous pie. My husband didn't want me to give away the second one. It fully qualifies for REAL whip cream or the "good stuff" ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
The 1st time I used the crust recipe given. It is beautiful to work with, but I prefer the taste of my own. The filling is fabulous! Give it ample time to cool or the berries will ooze everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States