Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was a HUGE pie! I had to use an extra deep pie plate! I added a bit of cream of tarter to it. I sent it to work with my husband. He said it was set up nicely (I was worried it wouldn't) and him and the guys loved it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Not very good. Haven't had a lot of bumbleberry pies - mostly store bought. I had never made one before and much prefer a store bought one to this one, although I prefer to do my own home baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This pie was ok, not great or terrible just in between. The grocery store did not have any rhubarb so I made the pie exactly per the recipe minus that. I like berry pies to be sweeter. This one was not sweet enough for me. Personally I would rate this three stars but the other two friends who ate it each rated it a four and a five so I went with four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This pie was simply amazing. The filling was the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5+++. Excellent pie & crust recipe. I used the crust recipe as is - perfect & very forgivable. Like the other reviewers, I made substitutions using what I had on hand ~ 12 cups of mixed strawberries, peaches, blackberries, and rhubarb. I didn't have the tapioca, so I used corn starch per another reviewers suggestions. Came out perfect, & the best tasting pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is the first time I've ever had, made or heard of Bumbleberry Pie, and since I had most of the ingredients on hand, I had to give it a try. I used 1 1/2 cups each of frozen strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries, thawed and drained, no rhubarb, and 1 red delicious apple, which came up to 1 1/2 cups. I subbed 2tsp corn starch for the tapioca and went with my own crust and this? Is just too yummy. Another commenter said that this pie is very forgiving of substitutions and I have to agree. Like other commenters, I also agree that this pie needs to cool before you eat it or it will be runny. This might also be a good recipe to use for just a one berry pie - either way, I have a feeling this is going to become a new summer staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the perfect pie. My favorite. Note: I thought the pie was a little thin, so I double the filling recipe. As a result, the tapioca never cooked all the way. Next time I'll experiment with instant tapioca. Update: Instant tapioca is no good. The texture of the whole pie was really gooey and weird, and I missed the texture of the regular tapioca beads. It is definitely worth using regular tapioca even if that means sacrificing the deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. D
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This makes such a juicy flavorful pie! I substituted cornstarch for tapioca. Had never tried rhubarb, pleasantly surprised. I would recommend including the apples if you do the rhubarb because they compliment each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I got rave reviews from all the neighbors I made this for! I did not have raspberries on hand, so I supplemented with additional rhubarb and strawberries. I also did not have tapioca, so I took the advice of another reviewer and used cornstarch and water. So good! I wish it were still summer so I could make it again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States