Bumbleberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe! I turned this into a cobbler to cut down on the cholesterol. I eliminated the pie crusts and substituted a crumb topping made from brown sugar, oatmeal & walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A 5 out of 5!!! This pie is terrific. Normally, I have a difficult time making good pie dough, but this one was absolutely delightful, both to work with and to eat. :) I didn't have time to chill it 4 hours, so I only chilled it for 1 - and it still was a dream to roll out. I used my own frozen raspberries, blueberries, and rhubarb in this recipe, and the fresh apples called for. By the time I put that into my pie crusts, there simply wasn't any more room for the strawberries - so I left them out, and didn't even miss them. One thing I would suggest: serve this pie when it's totally cooled off, *not* warm from the oven. I served it warm, and the juice from all the berries made it really runny. I was a little upset at first, thinking I didn't add enough flour or something, but when it cooled off, it was a perfect consistency and thickness. I will be saving the pie dough recipe for all my pie recipes from now on, and I'll DEFINITELY be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was the best ever!! Subsituted cornstarch 4T for the tapioca. Turned out perfect. Already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I figured this pie would be delicious with whatever you put in it, and I had a large amount of strawberries, blueberries and nectarines in my fridge that needed to be used up quick. I halved the recipe for one pie and used my three fruits and as one reviewer suggested, used 4T cornstarch in place of the tapioca since I didn't have any. I also used a storebought crust, just being lazy I guess. So yummy, not too sweet, a little on the tart side from my nectarines, it's just a good all around recipe that you can tailor to whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Ok, so I used this recipe and comments as a "guide!" I used frozen mixed berries, rhubarb, an apple (total fruit about 6 cups) and Pillsbury pie crusts. I partially defrosted and drained the fruit. Used one cup of sugar, 1/3 cup flour and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of tapioca. I made one pie and it was fabulous! I will make this again! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This is the first bumbleberry pie I have ever made or tasted and it is divine!! (After searching the internet and reading up on the history of "Bumbleberry " pie, I decided on this recipe because it seemed like the tastiest mixture of fruit, and I was not dissapointed.) I have made 5 of them already. I have to say that the pie crust is very easy to make, as well as light and flaky, but it was missing the flavor that butter gives to a crust, so I think I will use some butter in it next time. Try it! It's a wonderful addition to your pie recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamcorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These pies are excellent- my husband loves fruit pie and he said that pies don't get any better than this! I used frozen mixed berries(I cut up the whole strawberries) and rhubarb and did not thaw the fruit. I also made the crust with half unsalted butter and half shortening and increased the salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, dotted pie filling with butter and brushed crust with milk and sprinkled with sugar crystals. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is my new favorite pie! I left out the apples, because we don't like them, and it was still delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is to pre-cook the bottom crust for a few minutes. Mine wasn't as brown on the bottom as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is the first time I've ever had, made or heard of Bumbleberry Pie, and since I had most of the ingredients on hand, I had to give it a try. I used 1 1/2 cups each of frozen strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries, thawed and drained, no rhubarb, and 1 red delicious apple, which came up to 1 1/2 cups. I subbed 2tsp corn starch for the tapioca and went with my own crust and this? Is just too yummy. Another commenter said that this pie is very forgiving of substitutions and I have to agree. Like other commenters, I also agree that this pie needs to cool before you eat it or it will be runny. This might also be a good recipe to use for just a one berry pie - either way, I have a feeling this is going to become a new summer staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I love this recipe! This is going to be a pie I make every year it is so good. It has the perfect amount of sugar, not too sweet at all I did replace the tapioca with 4 Tbs of cornstarch, because I never have tapioca on hand. As wonderful as this recipe is as is, you can change out the berries to suite your tastes. I replaced 1c raspberry with blackberry. I also replaced a cup of the apples for cherries. and thought they added to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States