Bumbleberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this pie 2 years ago for Christmas and my 9 year old granddaughter request this for every holiday since but she does not get it. It is her 11th birthday this week and she wants this instead of a birthday cake. She just can't forget it. It is a wonderful pie. Granddaughter is now 14 & guess what she wants for her birthday? Yup! She said it's my favorite dessert. I have been using the frozen mixed berry fruit instead of the fresh as well as the rhubarb with having to make this year-round and it is still wonderful. I do increase the flour to 1/2 cup then with frozen fruit because of the liquid from frozen fruit. We love it. Serve with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I don't eat berries but my husband and friends thinks this is the best they've ever eaten. It's quickly became their favorite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyx26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
So easy and even my fruit-challenged husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This pie is a winner! A perfect blend of fruits. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen berries and it was still great. Be gentle when blending the berries in so you do not crush them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Ansgar, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Wonderful!!! My family gobbled it up for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is probably the best pie I ever made.So yummy and a good way to use some of the rhubarb I have growing.Thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This pie is so good. I did as others sugested and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, apples, and rhubarb. OMG, so good. It went so fast I had to make another one the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have made this pie twice. First time was a disaster(far too watery), second time was one of the best pies I made. I used blackberries, raspberries and a mango. Using the 4.4oz containers our stores(here in Toronto) sell raspberries and blackberries in as cups. I used three of blacks and one of rasps and the mango sliced thin. I sprinkled some sugar and a pinch of starch on the fruit and let them sit for an hour while Cynjne made the crust. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of starch to the flour and sugar mix. Adding the starch was a tip Cynjne picked up somewhere, it worked. She found the pie almost too sweet, but it is pie ... what do you want. lol She really liked the mango in the pie. It was really good. I am going to make it again in the next day or two. This time I am going to use more raspberries and add some blueberries. I may omit the mango. I am also thinking about using a peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this pie for a 10 inch deep dish pie plate. It's a Watkins collectable pie plate set given to me and all 5 of my sisters. I have to tweak every recipe to accomodate the pie plate. Once you have a pie plate like that a plain old 9 inch one isn't as good. This recipe turned out incredible! I generally just do a recipe 1 and 1/2 times for the filling. It works out just fine. I have researched many bumbleberry recipes and this one was the one I chose. I thought that it also had blueberries in it, so I added 2 pints of them to the recipe. I only used 2 c. apple slices, but did 2 pints of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries, and just one and a half cup rhubarb. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar and 1/2 c. flour. This pie turned out amazing. I should have had more thickening, will do that next time, but this is a real keeper, thanks Doreen for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States