Bumbleberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This pie was excellent, and it lasted all of one day at my house with 3 people. As suggested by another reviewer, I added less sugar and only put in 3/4 cup and it was plently sweet. I also substituted red raspberries for the blackberries, and added about 8 black cherries that I had in the fridge so I could get rid of them. I made a lattice crust on top, and the pie came out of the oven looking awesome with a really really pretty color to it. It smelled great and tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Great recipe but very sweet, suggest reducing sugar to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This pie is a winner! A perfect blend of fruits. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen berries and it was still great. Be gentle when blending the berries in so you do not crush them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Ansgar, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this pie for a 10 inch deep dish pie plate. It's a Watkins collectable pie plate set given to me and all 5 of my sisters. I have to tweak every recipe to accomodate the pie plate. Once you have a pie plate like that a plain old 9 inch one isn't as good. This recipe turned out incredible! I generally just do a recipe 1 and 1/2 times for the filling. It works out just fine. I have researched many bumbleberry recipes and this one was the one I chose. I thought that it also had blueberries in it, so I added 2 pints of them to the recipe. I only used 2 c. apple slices, but did 2 pints of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries, and just one and a half cup rhubarb. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar and 1/2 c. flour. This pie turned out amazing. I should have had more thickening, will do that next time, but this is a real keeper, thanks Doreen for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This pie is so good. I did as others sugested and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, apples, and rhubarb. OMG, so good. It went so fast I had to make another one the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
this is very good. the one think i would change is making a lattice crust. but i haven't tried that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
I love this pie. I have tons of rhubarb and Ilike to make this for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is probably the best pie I ever made.So yummy and a good way to use some of the rhubarb I have growing.Thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Wonderful!!! My family gobbled it up for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this pie 2 years ago for Christmas and my 9 year old granddaughter request this for every holiday since but she does not get it. It is her 11th birthday this week and she wants this instead of a birthday cake. She just can't forget it. It is a wonderful pie. Granddaughter is now 14 & guess what she wants for her birthday? Yup! She said it's my favorite dessert. I have been using the frozen mixed berry fruit instead of the fresh as well as the rhubarb with having to make this year-round and it is still wonderful. I do increase the flour to 1/2 cup then with frozen fruit because of the liquid from frozen fruit. We love it. Serve with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States