Bumbleberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This pie was excellent, and it lasted all of one day at my house with 3 people. As suggested by another reviewer, I added less sugar and only put in 3/4 cup and it was plently sweet. I also substituted red raspberries for the blackberries, and added about 8 black cherries that I had in the fridge so I could get rid of them. I made a lattice crust on top, and the pie came out of the oven looking awesome with a really really pretty color to it. It smelled great and tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This pie is a winner! A perfect blend of fruits. I used frozen rhubarb and frozen berries and it was still great. Be gentle when blending the berries in so you do not crush them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Ansgar, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Great recipe but very sweet, suggest reducing sugar to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this pie for a 10 inch deep dish pie plate. It's a Watkins collectable pie plate set given to me and all 5 of my sisters. I have to tweak every recipe to accomodate the pie plate. Once you have a pie plate like that a plain old 9 inch one isn't as good. This recipe turned out incredible! I generally just do a recipe 1 and 1/2 times for the filling. It works out just fine. I have researched many bumbleberry recipes and this one was the one I chose. I thought that it also had blueberries in it, so I added 2 pints of them to the recipe. I only used 2 c. apple slices, but did 2 pints of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries, and just one and a half cup rhubarb. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar and 1/2 c. flour. This pie turned out amazing. I should have had more thickening, will do that next time, but this is a real keeper, thanks Doreen for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This pie is so good. I did as others sugested and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, apples, and rhubarb. OMG, so good. It went so fast I had to make another one the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
this is very good. the one think i would change is making a lattice crust. but i haven't tried that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
I love this pie. I have tons of rhubarb and Ilike to make this for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is probably the best pie I ever made.So yummy and a good way to use some of the rhubarb I have growing.Thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Wonderful!!! My family gobbled it up for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this pie 2 years ago for Christmas and my 9 year old granddaughter request this for every holiday since but she does not get it. It is her 11th birthday this week and she wants this instead of a birthday cake. She just can't forget it. It is a wonderful pie. Granddaughter is now 14 & guess what she wants for her birthday? Yup! She said it's my favorite dessert. I have been using the frozen mixed berry fruit instead of the fresh as well as the rhubarb with having to make this year-round and it is still wonderful. I do increase the flour to 1/2 cup then with frozen fruit because of the liquid from frozen fruit. We love it. Serve with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States