Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used one boullion cube since I didn't have granules. Nice flavor and perfectly done. It's good hot, warm, even chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Heed the advice from others that have said this is TOO salty! If you are using no-salt bullion, then it shouldn't be a problem, but most bullions in a jar and/or cube have a LOT of sodium. I loved the way that it smelled as it cooked, it reminded me of Thanksgiving. When it was done, I tried to counteract the saltiness by adding lemon juice and a little sugar. Completely destroyed it, so will try again later after I buy more cranberries. Good thing the ingredients are cheap! Looking forward to having the less salty version. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I did sub low sodium chicken broth for the water for a little added flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is one of the best grain dishes I've ever had! I used organic chicken broth and unsalted butter. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
i made this without butter, using kosher chicken broth, dried cranberries, flat-leaf parsley, green onions, toasted pine nuts, salt, and pepper (just like whole foods!). delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a really useful recipe. Sometimes I substitute the cranberries for other dried fruit like apricots and it works well. The best it's ever been was when I cooked it in homemade stock of the carcass of a roasted duck. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yum! Subbed chicken broth for the water and bouillion, upped the butter, and added some salt and pepper. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Way too much boullion; need to reduce it a lot. Probably a teaspoon per cup of water would suffice. Nice with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I didn't have chicken bullion granules so I substituted with a tsp of Kosher salt. I also used salted butter. I used more then 1/4 cup of cranberries and it still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVAZQUEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I used home made chicken stock, onions, a little garlic and parsley to balance the flavors. Bulgur is a high fiber, protein grain. Use it to replace rice or potatoes. B.J. Corpening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States