Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, but we found the cranberries (and dried cherries which we added as well) to sink to the bottom of the pan. They didn't seem to want to stay together. This tastes pretty homey, and maybe best suited as a stuffing for chicken or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
DO NOT USE the amount of chicken boullion in this. Use about half, this was super salty the first time I made it. The second time, I used boxed chicken broth in place of the water and then seasoned it at the end so I could control the salt. The bulgar and cranberry combo is awesome - this is a great side for a weeknight meal - a real change-up from white rice or bland pasta as a side. The texture is hearty and filling. Buy a large bag and store it - great survival food as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was quite good, but it needed something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made this up as a breakfast meal. Did not use chicken bouillon, instead used a mix of water and apple juice - half water & half juice. Stirred in the cranberries at the end. Very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
my husband and 2 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Good, simple recipe, but too salty. Like other reviewers, next time I would just use one cube of bouillon (1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I used half of the bouillon powder and it was still way too salty. I'd suggest using 1.5 TSP instead of tablespoons. I also added a little sauteed onion and a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I am trying to eat "clean" and so am trying to introduce new grains into my diet. This was my very first attempt with bulgur. This gets 5 stars from me, but only after a few modifications as it is a great base for tons of conceivable additions. I made it as stated except using broth instead of bouillon powder. It cooked perfectly but when I tasted it, it was seriously lacking something. I had already decided to add white beans to it for protein as I was eating it for lunch, but then I added lemon juice, then another taste said I needed to add sweet to balance the sour, so I added a bit of honey. This was good, but then it was a bit clumpy, so I added a splash of EVOO. Getting there! Added salt and pepper, yummy! Finally decided it needed some crunch, so after putting a serving on my plate, I sprinkled some roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. Yum-O! This is a keeper for sure, can't wait to play with it more and see what other variations I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My boyfriend and I make this at least once a week as a quick, easy, yet tasty side-dish to pair with any meal. Instead of the 1 cup water, I use 1 cup chicken stock which really adds a rich flavor. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was good! Like others, I used chicken broth rather than bullion. I used 1/2 broth and 1/2 water. I did not have cranberries so I used raisins and added pine nuts. Additionally, I browned some shallot in the butter, before adding and boiling the broth-water. This was my first time using the cracked wheat and it was a big sucess at dinner! I will try it again with various other add-ins. Thanks for the simple and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States