Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I was so glad to see this recipe... my Korean friend in college used to make this for parties, but would never give me the recipe! Her recipe didn't contain veggies, but I like the addition. Wonderful flavor and easy to prepare... thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This is GREAT!!! I have never had anything like it, but I will make it again and again! I left out the MSG and addd a bit more soy. Hint #1; When I put the meat on the foil on the grill, I did not poor off the exrta liquid. I didn't think there was alot, but the meat ended up stewing in the juices. I used stir-fry beef, so the pieces were just big enough to lay across the grate, then cook on high flame just long enough to run in and get a clean plate. I served with a quick fried rice. Hint #2; You can buy the julienned carrots at the salad bar at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was very good, loved the taste of the beef. Leftovers warmed up with some of the ingredients added as the marinade and threw in some chinese vegetables to stretch it further. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
My grill was on the fritz when I made this so I put it in the broiler in a foil pan and it was delicious! I recommend doubling the recipe so you can have leftovers and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Made this last night, it was great. We cooked half the batch that was marinating for 3 hours and then cooked the rest later that had been marinating for 8 hours and the 8 hour batch tasted alot better! Big difference in taste. I also added 1 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar, which is what I had, to cut down on the saltiness. Ill be making this again for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEEJOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
While spending time in Korea many years ago, my husband has been looking for a recipe for Bulgogi that tasted authentic. He said this is the flavor he remembers exactly. And how much easier does it get then this!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Yum! We really enjoyed it with steamed rice and veggies and kim chee. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have never rated a recipe before, but after my very picky kids called this their "new favorite dinner," I just had to thank you for this great recipe. My husband, who lived in Korea for some time, also loved it. I omitted the MSG and marinated it overnight. I slightly overcooked it on the BBQ (it was still wonderful), so watch it carefully. We ate it wrap-style in romaine lettuce leaves with rice. Next time, I will double the recipe because we inhaled it all and then licked our plates. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My father is Korean so I remember having this dish as a kid. We never put carrots in it so I left them out. I also omit the salt--the soy sauce already has plenty of salt and I used reduced sodium soy sauce at that. I added a bit more sugar to taste as I recall it to have a slightly sweet and salty taste. Also topped with fresh scallions when it was done and served it over hot white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I worked at an authentic Korean restaurant, and this is BY FAR the closest recipe to the Bulgogi we made. At the restaurant, I first fried the beef and some marinade in a fry pan to get it nice and cooked. THEN, I would put it over the flames to give it that little bit of flame kissed goodness. One suggestion, try eating the beef with a little bit of fresh Pineapple. It's an amazing contrast. Bravo though, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States