Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is one of our favorite meals. It does turn out different each time...I think it depends on the meat. That last time I made it it was awesome! I used top-side beef (I live in Kenya so I'm not sure what type of beef that would be in the States but it's not sirloin)the meat was so tender. I only marinated it for 2-3 hours, skipped the msg, used about 1/2 the pepper, par-boiled the carrots and added green pepper. I also used 2 pounds of beef and tripled the sauce. I don't have a grill so I got a frying pan real hot and fried it quickly in the pan until it was just done. I served it with rice. Very delicious. It's a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! We are big fans of Korean food (my husband lived there for 2 years) and he gave me 2 thumbs up with this recipe. We did not add the MSG and it still came out fantastic. I let the marinade sit for 2 hours and served it with sticky rice...PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was good but just good. Had fried rice and tried the Korean Cucumber salad with it. The salad was too vinegar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I love Korean food and this recipe comes out great. Perfectly flavored not too overpowering and not too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I used london Broil (it was on sale) I would likely go with a more fatty beef next time. It was good - my friends all liked it, it got better (and moister) when I added good ole fashion bbq sauce. I will make again - it easy the kebabs cook very fast and who does not like Meat on a stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The recipe was wonderful and everyone who tasted it, loved it. I skipped the msg and added in some sliced yellow peppers when it was almost done cooking just to add more veggies and color. It was very easy to make, and I can't wait to try it again. (I also marinated it over night as the author suggested and served it with a choice of basmati rice or mango couscous).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My husband and I both loved the flavor of the dish, although it wasn't really like any other bulgogi dish we've had. I did broil it as suggested so next time I plan on using the grill to see if that's the difference. I used flank steak and tripled the marinade (I had 1.5 lbs of meat). I added rice vinegar and some ground red pepper for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Not that good. Don't have much more to say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
THis only tasted like black pepper to me-not like the bulgogi my friends mom would make or what I've had in restaurants. I followed the directions as written choosing to leave out the optional MSG. I marinated the meat overnight...so my guess is that it really needs the MSG to kick in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe... I only got to marinate mine for about 30 minutes and they still tasted good/tender. I used a round roast sliced into thin strips. I also followed the advice of some other posters and added rice vinegar and extra sugar, which I think helped enhance the flavor. Will definitely make again, this time soaking overnight to increase flavor/tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States