Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I grew up eating bulgogi. My mom adds chives instead of green onions. Growing up, all our steaks were marinated in soy sauce, and so I always hated American steak. I have even been to some of the finest steakhouses in the US such as Bern's in Tampa and Gene and Giorgetti's in Chicago and was sorely disappointed in their steaks. My BF used to make fun of the fact I only liked steaks marinated in soy sauce; he railed against "ruining" a steak with soy sauce, until he tried bulgogi. Now he only wants soy sauce based marinades for his steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
had this marinade overnight. Cut into 1 inch strips and in very hot pan, I quickly braised them. Served with spicy hot mustard sauce and used them in lettuce wraps. Used as an appetizer and even when they were cooled off these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I FOLLOWED THIS RECIPE EXACTLY AND IT WAS A GOOD STIR FRY, BUT TASTED NOTHING LIKE TRADITIONAL BEEF BULGOGI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Really good. I omitted MSG(its just unecessary) but followed recipe otherwise. I grilled it outdoors and served over rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good. Do NOT use MSG it doesn't need it at all. Bulgogi should be slightly sweet. Use 1 tablespoon rather than one teaspoon of sugar. I stirfried saving the marinade. Once the beef was done, I boiled the marinade then added cornstarch dissolved in water to thicken to make a yummy sauce then served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
After living in Korea for two years, I love Korean food including kimchi! I marinated the meat overnight and cooked it on my George Foreman grill and served it over rice. I didn't have a carrot but I wish I did, many Korean restaurants add a carrot and it adds color and texture. I omitted the salt and MSG, you don't need it. I used low sodium soy and Splenda 1/2 and 1/2 sugar (half sugar and half Splenda). The key to Bulgogi is marinating overnight and if you freeze your meat for 30 minutes prior to slice, it is easier to get thin slices. I will definitely make this again! It is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really enjoy bulgogi, it's one of my favorite childhood dishes. This recipe was pretty good (not as good as grandmas), I found out her trick though she adds a can of coke to it... It tenderizes and makes it sweeter, and no MSG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was about 99% the same as my mother's bulgogi. It was delicious and very easy to make. I'm 1/2 Korean and was raised eating authentic Korean food from my mother so I have a picky taste for authentic vs. others. Me and my wife loved this and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Loved this-I threaded on skewers and grilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States