Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I thought the amounts sounded too small for a marinade, but marinating it in a gallon size zipper bag really made the marinade go a lot farther with the meat. Flavor wise, this is as authentic a Bulgogi recipe as I've ever tasted. Absolutely delicious, and a flavor any pallet can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Very good flavor, but a little bland (read: not spicy) as we thought it would be. I served this with the Korean cucumber salad, also from this site, which we found much spicier that we expected. Will use the excess red pepper from the salad to kick up the heat level of the beef next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
LOVE this recipe! I tripled it because I had 3 lbs of steak. I marinated it overnight and it was fantastic. SO easy and SO delicious! I will be making this a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was pretty good! Like a lot of people I didn't have time to marinade everything over night.. but I did for a couple of hours. I think this dish is something you have to let set over night so it can have its full flavor. Mine came out a little dry with a light flavor (but it was still tasty). I also think if you are grilling this, you should put the carrots on first because they take a bit longer than the meat and onions. I added pineapple and pineapple juice to tenderize it a little more and I also added a teaspoon of rice vinegar and an extra teaspoon of sugar. I didn't have any sesame oil, so I replaced it with vegetable oil. I will make this again! It was cheap to make and I had no left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The recipe is great as I didn't have time to marinade meat overnight like many of recipes I read. Love Korean BBQ but never made at home. Quick run to H-Mart (Korean specialty store) to pick up some broccoli, bean sprouts, mushrooms and red peppers. Bought some spicy kimchi and radish as side dishes. We didn't grill but turned this into a stir-fry. It made for delicious simple dinner. I always fret when I offer to cook but not anymore. Thanks to all the great cooks on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madpotter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I didn't read the reviews before making this. I think it needs about 1.5-2 times the amount of sauce, depending on your tastes. But still very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this exactly per the recipe's instructions and the meat came out very tender, but a little salty. Wish I would have read the reviews beforehand. Will try again and will use reduced-sodium soy sauce, cut out the salt, and add a little extra sugar or perhaps some vinegar as other reviewer's have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angella Theriault
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Awesome! I also added some honey- it was a nice touch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angella Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
An excellent example of some of the wonderful Korean cooking.... Exactly as I had it while living there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Taste great if you use it for Kabob marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRedx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States