Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My Korean sister-in-law gave this dish her stamp of approval and my husband practically inhaled it, so this is definitely going to be reappearing on our table. I had a little extra meat than called for, so ended up doubling the marinade. While I didn't do it this time around, I may omit the salt next time. I really liked the addition of the carrots. They added a welcome bit of color and flavor to the dish--and weren't mushy at all. Adding more green onions would also be a nice touch in terms of color. My sister-in-law stir fries this dish, which may be a good option for days when it's too cold to barbecue! I served the Bulgolgi with rice and Kimchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astanton
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very, very good. I upped the sugar and ommited the salt per other reviews and it turned out great. I also decided not to add the carrots while cooking since they just turn to mush. I shreaded some carrots and topped the dish at the table to add the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe was good, but didn't taste like the bulgogi that we order at our favorite Janapese restaurant. It wasn't as sweet as I thought it should taste. The next time I make this recipe I will tweak the sauce so that the soy sauce isn't the prevailing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This turned out great with some additions, since I can't seem to make anything without adding my own touches. I doubled the sauce recipe to have enough sauce to cover the meat. I added three tablespoons of rice vinegar as well as some pineapple juice for sweetness. I also doubled the amount of sugar. I didn't have a grill so I had to stir fry and still was great. Served with the korean cucumber salad and was one of the best dinners! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was OK, I let marinade over night and it absorbed all of the marinate. It was a little dry to me. I thought it would have more sauce. I served over white rice. Easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Good recipe. Found the beef already sliced/packaged at an asian grocery. Husband liked it, but would like just a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It was wonderful. I added celery, an extra half teaspoon of sugar, and I reduced the salt by half. Next time I will add half of a kiwi and some spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I thought the amounts sounded too small for a marinade, but marinating it in a gallon size zipper bag really made the marinade go a lot farther with the meat. Flavor wise, this is as authentic a Bulgogi recipe as I've ever tasted. Absolutely delicious, and a flavor any pallet can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Very good flavor, but a little bland (read: not spicy) as we thought it would be. I served this with the Korean cucumber salad, also from this site, which we found much spicier that we expected. Will use the excess red pepper from the salad to kick up the heat level of the beef next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
LOVE this recipe! I tripled it because I had 3 lbs of steak. I marinated it overnight and it was fantastic. SO easy and SO delicious! I will be making this a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States