Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The recipe was wonderful and everyone who tasted it, loved it. I skipped the msg and added in some sliced yellow peppers when it was almost done cooking just to add more veggies and color. It was very easy to make, and I can't wait to try it again. (I also marinated it over night as the author suggested and served it with a choice of basmati rice or mango couscous).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My husband and I both loved the flavor of the dish, although it wasn't really like any other bulgogi dish we've had. I did broil it as suggested so next time I plan on using the grill to see if that's the difference. I used flank steak and tripled the marinade (I had 1.5 lbs of meat). I added rice vinegar and some ground red pepper for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Not that good. Don't have much more to say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
THis only tasted like black pepper to me-not like the bulgogi my friends mom would make or what I've had in restaurants. I followed the directions as written choosing to leave out the optional MSG. I marinated the meat overnight...so my guess is that it really needs the MSG to kick in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe... I only got to marinate mine for about 30 minutes and they still tasted good/tender. I used a round roast sliced into thin strips. I also followed the advice of some other posters and added rice vinegar and extra sugar, which I think helped enhance the flavor. Will definitely make again, this time soaking overnight to increase flavor/tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I have never rated a recipe before, but after my very picky kids called this their "new favorite dinner," I just had to thank you for this great recipe. My husband, who lived in Korea for some time, also loved it. I omitted the MSG and marinated it overnight. I slightly overcooked it on the BBQ (it was still wonderful), so watch it carefully. We ate it wrap-style in romaine lettuce leaves with rice. Next time, I will double the recipe because we inhaled it all and then licked our plates. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My father is Korean so I remember having this dish as a kid. We never put carrots in it so I left them out. I also omit the salt--the soy sauce already has plenty of salt and I used reduced sodium soy sauce at that. I added a bit more sugar to taste as I recall it to have a slightly sweet and salty taste. Also topped with fresh scallions when it was done and served it over hot white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Made this last night, it was great. We cooked half the batch that was marinating for 3 hours and then cooked the rest later that had been marinating for 8 hours and the 8 hour batch tasted alot better! Big difference in taste. I also added 1 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar, which is what I had, to cut down on the saltiness. Ill be making this again for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoycieSweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was very good, loved the taste of the beef. Leftovers warmed up with some of the ingredients added as the marinade and threw in some chinese vegetables to stretch it further. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Yum! We really enjoyed it with steamed rice and veggies and kim chee. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States