Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was very good. Next time, I think I will double the meat and triple the marinade. My oldest went for seconds which is a rarity. Easy to cook up and I think will be easy for a midweek meal. I cooked it in the pan. I can only imagine how great it is over the grill. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
everything was great I added 4 green onions and more sliced onion Super tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I love bulgogi and kalbi, but Korean restaurants are SO expensive! Now I know why -- Korean ingredients are expensive! This is a nice alternative to the real deal, and equally tasty. But just a few tweeks: I never use soy sauce and salt together. This recipe begs for just a hint of ground fresh ginger. Amen to honey instead of sugar, and carrots add another sweetness that is essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Taste is very good. I used raw sugar just because that's what we use at home. The sauce is more syrupy than runny. I marinated very thinly sliced beef for 6 hours and the meat was quite tender. I would make 3 to 4 times the sauce mixture next time though as it ran a bit dry once on top of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Added a little ginger and left out the MSG-very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is not bad but next time I'll add a few red pepper flakes to kick it up a bit. The meat came out very good and tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Prep time is crazy, the taste isn't even close to authentic Bulgogi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Not good! The cooking time is way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe that you don't have to mess with ... except maybe either halve the meat or double the marinade. If must monkey with the recipe, do simple things like maybe add ginger or peppers or pepper flake. Adding other fluids such as juices or colas will only destroy the experience. If you're going with a different meat, remember that tougher meats will need longer to marinade and less fatty meats are going to be dry. Stick with sirloin, ribeye or flank. Also, if you're going to marinade this for longer than a day or freeze it ... any vegetable you have in the mix is going to be mushy. complaining about something like this in comment is pretty pointless as it isn't the vegetable or recipe ... it is your preparation. Get a jar of Kimchi, some chili and bean paste ... look up recipes for items you would find in a traditional banchan and make a good Korean style meal out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States