Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent! I actually used spare ribs with the bones 'cause that's what I had on hand & they marinated in my fridge for like 3 days (I was sick & forgot all about them!). Put them under the broiler for about 5-6 minutes per side, & they turned out AWESOME! I, too, skipped the MSG altogether. I didn't add carrots or the yellow onion as I didn't have any but I don't think they were missed. Thank you for this recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was amazingly good. I added a TBL of ginger and some chili paste and doubled the marinade ingredients. My husband was dubious this would be good but it was supremely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Excellent!!I sliced the beef very thinly and removed as much of the fat as possible and marinade it for over 24 hours. So good!! The amount of pepper is perfect to offset the saltiness of the soy sauce. I also cooked it in a skillet on the stove because it was less work for the same basic result. Doesn't need the veggies either. I served my meat over white rice with a salad on the side. This will be one of the meals I make when top sirloin goes on sale!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a very good and fairly quick meal to prepare. I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I added some sliced bell pepper to my mix of meat and veggies. I also wanted a little bit of heat so I added about 1 teaspoon of hot chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is good but very different. Korean barbecue flavor is very different than what I think of when I think barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My Korean sister-in-law gave this dish her stamp of approval and my husband practically inhaled it, so this is definitely going to be reappearing on our table. I had a little extra meat than called for, so ended up doubling the marinade. While I didn't do it this time around, I may omit the salt next time. I really liked the addition of the carrots. They added a welcome bit of color and flavor to the dish--and weren't mushy at all. Adding more green onions would also be a nice touch in terms of color. My sister-in-law stir fries this dish, which may be a good option for days when it's too cold to barbecue! I served the Bulgolgi with rice and Kimchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astanton
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very, very good. I upped the sugar and ommited the salt per other reviews and it turned out great. I also decided not to add the carrots while cooking since they just turn to mush. I shreaded some carrots and topped the dish at the table to add the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe was good, but didn't taste like the bulgogi that we order at our favorite Janapese restaurant. It wasn't as sweet as I thought it should taste. The next time I make this recipe I will tweak the sauce so that the soy sauce isn't the prevailing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This turned out great with some additions, since I can't seem to make anything without adding my own touches. I doubled the sauce recipe to have enough sauce to cover the meat. I added three tablespoons of rice vinegar as well as some pineapple juice for sweetness. I also doubled the amount of sugar. I didn't have a grill so I had to stir fry and still was great. Served with the korean cucumber salad and was one of the best dinners! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was OK, I let marinade over night and it absorbed all of the marinate. It was a little dry to me. I thought it would have more sauce. I served over white rice. Easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States