Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
It's the classic. I was looking for a new way to use flat iron steak and believe me, I found it! Slice as thin as you can. If you use Kikkoman soy sauce, understand that it is good in this dish but very salty. I eliminated the salt and got a good balance. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm not sure what i expected, but the crowd I made this dish for LOVED it. I thought it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My mother's Korean and I make this dish quite frequently. This is a decent basic recipe but to make it your own consider these alterations as I use! Instead of sugar, use honey or kyro syrup. After the meat cooks for a while the sugar will help thicken the sauce and caramelize nicely. That adds the sweetness you HAVE to have. (Otherwise you're making plain stir fried beef Chinese style!) Definitely leave out the salt as that's what the soy sauce is for! To tenderize the meat so it's not stringy (if using a cheap cut of beef) mince up some Korean/Asian pear or kiwi and add that in there. My mom even uses Pepsi/Coke when we're out of fruit in the house and it works great! Plus it adds some additional sweetness. I'm lazy and use a mini food processor to mince my garlic and fruit together then add them both to the bowl. I never put in the extra vegetables, if I do use any I use sliced green onions for color only. Also, MSG isn't very good for you in large amounts so if you don't feel like using it leave it out. MSG adds a little more depth to the flavors without increasing the saltiness, so feel free to use it at your own discretion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownbaby80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
You've done me a solid grneyedmustang! Follow the recipe exactly and its EXACTLY what you would want... Exactly means don't change anything. Anything means... anything :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I served this when I had friends over. This was a hit! I had great reviews. I "will" be making this again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent! I actually used spare ribs with the bones 'cause that's what I had on hand & they marinated in my fridge for like 3 days (I was sick & forgot all about them!). Put them under the broiler for about 5-6 minutes per side, & they turned out AWESOME! I, too, skipped the MSG altogether. I didn't add carrots or the yellow onion as I didn't have any but I don't think they were missed. Thank you for this recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was amazingly good. I added a TBL of ginger and some chili paste and doubled the marinade ingredients. My husband was dubious this would be good but it was supremely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Excellent!!I sliced the beef very thinly and removed as much of the fat as possible and marinade it for over 24 hours. So good!! The amount of pepper is perfect to offset the saltiness of the soy sauce. I also cooked it in a skillet on the stove because it was less work for the same basic result. Doesn't need the veggies either. I served my meat over white rice with a salad on the side. This will be one of the meals I make when top sirloin goes on sale!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a very good and fairly quick meal to prepare. I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I added some sliced bell pepper to my mix of meat and veggies. I also wanted a little bit of heat so I added about 1 teaspoon of hot chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is good but very different. Korean barbecue flavor is very different than what I think of when I think barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States