Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe that you don't have to mess with ... except maybe either halve the meat or double the marinade. If must monkey with the recipe, do simple things like maybe add ginger or peppers or pepper flake. Adding other fluids such as juices or colas will only destroy the experience. If you're going with a different meat, remember that tougher meats will need longer to marinade and less fatty meats are going to be dry. Stick with sirloin, ribeye or flank. Also, if you're going to marinade this for longer than a day or freeze it ... any vegetable you have in the mix is going to be mushy. complaining about something like this in comment is pretty pointless as it isn't the vegetable or recipe ... it is your preparation. Get a jar of Kimchi, some chili and bean paste ... look up recipes for items you would find in a traditional banchan and make a good Korean style meal out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
LOVE bulgogi, so much flavor for so little work. Great basic recipe with great flavor. Next time I'm skipping the carrots, they don't really add anything and I'm not much of a fan anyways. Otherwise, give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the most authentic bulgogi recipe I've found. I can't get enough of it! Tip: When you first throw the meat on the skillet, the fat will render out and form a liquid in the pan. Keep cooking it until ALL of the liquid has evaporated away, and the meat is searing on a dry skillet. It literally doubles the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I LOVE bulgogi and this a a pretty great recipe if you ask me. I paired it with fried rice and pita bread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosepine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times. It is never boring. We always make a ton of it, serve it wrapped in lettuce with hot sauce or (in my case) sweet Thai chile sauce, then the next day it is great in a wrap, or even on a bun for lunch! I have no Korean connections so have no idea on authenticiy, it is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Pretty good. Don't discard the marinade as it adds some nice flavor when you top this dish over rice. Paired with Asian cucumber salad this dish was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUIRZ1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a delicious recipe! My husband described it as "Wonderful". Thanks so much for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I spent time living in South Korea and this bulgogi tasted so authentic. I used lean roast meat and had the butcher slice it into really thin pieces. I don't have a grill, so I cooked the meat and marinade in a wok instead. Served it up with steamed broccoli and some white rice--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was not good, the meat was still tough after marinating overnight. I had high hopes for this but it was dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is easy and delicious. I may at some red chile next time for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States