Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I was so glad to see this recipe... my Korean friend in college used to make this for parties, but would never give me the recipe! Her recipe didn't contain veggies, but I like the addition. Wonderful flavor and easy to prepare... thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This is GREAT!!! I have never had anything like it, but I will make it again and again! I left out the MSG and addd a bit more soy. Hint #1; When I put the meat on the foil on the grill, I did not poor off the exrta liquid. I didn't think there was alot, but the meat ended up stewing in the juices. I used stir-fry beef, so the pieces were just big enough to lay across the grate, then cook on high flame just long enough to run in and get a clean plate. I served with a quick fried rice. Hint #2; You can buy the julienned carrots at the salad bar at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Left out the onion and carrots, but added more green onions. Marinated 2 days. Put everything in the foil packet, no draining. Great flavor, tender meat... but a bit dry. Next time, I may double the sauce (add red pepper flakes?) and stirfry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
It was ok, it was missing something, still searching on this one, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Pretty Good. A repeat. I read the other reviwers suggestion and doubled the sauce. Marinated overnight and did not discard the marinade. We ended up stir frying this and serving over rice. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
My grill was on the fritz when I made this so I put it in the broiler in a foil pan and it was delicious! I recommend doubling the recipe so you can have leftovers and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This recipe was easy to prepare and had decent flavor, but it was too salty in my opinion and needed a "kick" of some kind. I'll make it again, but next time I'll omit the salt (there's enough in the soy sauce) and add some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I worked at an authentic Korean restaurant, and this is BY FAR the closest recipe to the Bulgogi we made. At the restaurant, I first fried the beef and some marinade in a fry pan to get it nice and cooked. THEN, I would put it over the flames to give it that little bit of flame kissed goodness. One suggestion, try eating the beef with a little bit of fresh Pineapple. It's an amazing contrast. Bravo though, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This is good stuff....I used chuck because chuck roasts were on sale that week. This recipe was almost exactly like my friend Son Chan makes, but not quite. I asked her what the difference was between what she makes and this recipe and she says she puts vinegar in the marinade, so I'll try that next time. My husband loves hers, and said mine was pretty good, but I couldn't expect to be a 5 star Korean cook right off the bat. I'll definitely be making this again, but adding a bit of vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I loved it!!! When I first smelled the marinade I was afraid that the taste would be to much like soy sauce but it was not, it was perfect. I broiled mine instead of grilling, I just made a bowl out of foil and broiled it to get the meat brown. It worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States