Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good. Do NOT use MSG it doesn't need it at all. Bulgogi should be slightly sweet. Use 1 tablespoon rather than one teaspoon of sugar. I stirfried saving the marinade. Once the beef was done, I boiled the marinade then added cornstarch dissolved in water to thicken to make a yummy sauce then served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
After living in Korea for two years, I love Korean food including kimchi! I marinated the meat overnight and cooked it on my George Foreman grill and served it over rice. I didn't have a carrot but I wish I did, many Korean restaurants add a carrot and it adds color and texture. I omitted the salt and MSG, you don't need it. I used low sodium soy and Splenda 1/2 and 1/2 sugar (half sugar and half Splenda). The key to Bulgogi is marinating overnight and if you freeze your meat for 30 minutes prior to slice, it is easier to get thin slices. I will definitely make this again! It is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really enjoy bulgogi, it's one of my favorite childhood dishes. This recipe was pretty good (not as good as grandmas), I found out her trick though she adds a can of coke to it... It tenderizes and makes it sweeter, and no MSG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was about 99% the same as my mother's bulgogi. It was delicious and very easy to make. I'm 1/2 Korean and was raised eating authentic Korean food from my mother so I have a picky taste for authentic vs. others. Me and my wife loved this and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Loved this-I threaded on skewers and grilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was pretty good, but it seemed like something was missing. I made the recipe as is, but I think it needed more spice or something. Kind of bland. Might be better with red pepper flakes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I thought it was good. I omitted the sesame seeds and green onion(my husband doesnt like them) and added an extra tsp sugar. Husband an oldest child liked it. Youngest didnt want to touch it bc of the carrots and onions. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyLLaNe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
great as a stir-fry beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
THIS WAS AWESOME!!! I lived in Korea for a year and have been searching for a good Bulgogi recipe. Even my picky husband liked it and he hates "meat that doesn't taste like meat." The only modification I did was adding a bit more sugar and rice vinegar for personal taste. Also I cooked it on the stove because it was raining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very tasty. I marinated rib eye steaks in this overnight. I broiled the steaks in the ovenon high approx. 8 minutes on each side. So juicy and tendet !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States