Bulgogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It had great flavor and tasted great... it just didn't taste like Bulgogi. I was stationed in Korea and had this dish there 2-3 days a week for a year. The actual dish would make a great stir fry though. I think next time I'll make the dish I'll finish it with a bag of frozen stir fry veggies and this "Bulgogi" in a wok for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Can I just say....yum. The only change I made was I used low sodium soy sauce. Thought it tasted very close to the original. I lived in Korea for 2 years and this was my favorite thing to eat there. Thanks for reminding me why!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I grew up eating bulgogi. My mom adds chives instead of green onions. Growing up, all our steaks were marinated in soy sauce, and so I always hated American steak. I have even been to some of the finest steakhouses in the US such as Bern's in Tampa and Gene and Giorgetti's in Chicago and was sorely disappointed in their steaks. My BF used to make fun of the fact I only liked steaks marinated in soy sauce; he railed against "ruining" a steak with soy sauce, until he tried bulgogi. Now he only wants soy sauce based marinades for his steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
had this marinade overnight. Cut into 1 inch strips and in very hot pan, I quickly braised them. Served with spicy hot mustard sauce and used them in lettuce wraps. Used as an appetizer and even when they were cooled off these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I FOLLOWED THIS RECIPE EXACTLY AND IT WAS A GOOD STIR FRY, BUT TASTED NOTHING LIKE TRADITIONAL BEEF BULGOGI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Really good. I omitted MSG(its just unecessary) but followed recipe otherwise. I grilled it outdoors and served over rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good. Do NOT use MSG it doesn't need it at all. Bulgogi should be slightly sweet. Use 1 tablespoon rather than one teaspoon of sugar. I stirfried saving the marinade. Once the beef was done, I boiled the marinade then added cornstarch dissolved in water to thicken to make a yummy sauce then served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
After living in Korea for two years, I love Korean food including kimchi! I marinated the meat overnight and cooked it on my George Foreman grill and served it over rice. I didn't have a carrot but I wish I did, many Korean restaurants add a carrot and it adds color and texture. I omitted the salt and MSG, you don't need it. I used low sodium soy and Splenda 1/2 and 1/2 sugar (half sugar and half Splenda). The key to Bulgogi is marinating overnight and if you freeze your meat for 30 minutes prior to slice, it is easier to get thin slices. I will definitely make this again! It is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really enjoy bulgogi, it's one of my favorite childhood dishes. This recipe was pretty good (not as good as grandmas), I found out her trick though she adds a can of coke to it... It tenderizes and makes it sweeter, and no MSG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States