Bulgogi (Korean BBQ) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
You can substitute pear juice with pineapple juice(either from can or fresh pineapple) which will make the meat really tender. Increased the sesame oil to 1T instead of 1t and added green onion to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Thank you--this is the closest bulgogi to my grandmothers! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This dish was a great hit with the kids and the husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Beauregard, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This dish is fantastic. So full of flavor. I used moose meat instead of beef because we have a freezer full and this is probably one of the best ways I've cooked it. We put it over rice. The kids loved it so much there wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salcha, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Unbelievably tasty! Turned out better than our favorite Korean restaurant. I cut back on the black pepper to turn down the spice and used pear juice. A definite favorite in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Instead of pear juice, we added half a can of sliced pineapples. It tenderizes the meat. Also, we throw the sauce mixture into a blender, including the onions. Just blend it all together, then soak the meat in this blended mixture. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This turned out great! I really like bulgogi and was suprised when I stumbled across this recipe. I used pineapple juice instead of wine, because that's what I had and it made more sense to me. At first I used my grill pan, but when the house got smokey I switch to a large skillet and we liked the meat cooked in the skillet better. I really liked this recipe. I even made it two days in a row. I can't wait to taste it barbequed in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is the Best Korean BBQ I ever had, This reminds me of the one I had In CA, the meat is so flavorable, It's a true Korean delicacy. You get 5 Star Rating *****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I couldn't find pear juice, so I used the wine..couldn't find sesame seeds, so I left them out...let it marinate for 2 1/2 days, and then stir fried...Wonderful!! Even the two year old liked it--and he isn't a big fan of meat. (Hubby liked it so much he asked me to make if for his mother when she visits this weekend.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States