Bulgogi (Korean BBQ) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
You can substitute pear juice with pineapple juice(either from can or fresh pineapple) which will make the meat really tender. Increased the sesame oil to 1T instead of 1t and added green onion to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very good, smells wonderful! I needed something to go with a soba salad (from this site also), and finally decided to try this. It's been in my list of favorites for a while. After reading and comparing reviews, I doubled mine as this: 3/4 Cup lite soy sauce, 2 Cups pear juice, 6 Tbl white sugar, 4 Tbl minced garlic, 2 Tbl sesame oil, 2 tsp. sesame seeds (toasted), 1/4 tsp black pepper, 2 pound thinly sliced rump roast, green onions and carrots. I marinated for 3 hrs. (to easily thinly slice the meat, freeze for about 2 hrs) I made a reduction from the leftover marinade, and served it with some jasmine rice. Next time, I'll tenderize the meat, to make it more soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This made good beef, however, I recommend sticking to the 1 hr. marinade time. I left mine overnight and the soy was so strong it tasted like my homemade jerky. It still gets 4 stars because we love that salty home made jerky taste. I'll have to try again with less marinade time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is such an easy, delicious recipe. And flexible. Tonight I used OJ in place of the pear juice and pork instead of beef. WIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I loved the flavor. I marinated the meat for 24 hours. I didn't use any MSG but did add steamed broccoli to the skillet when cooking the meat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Tasty tasty, says my kids but like every asian dish I make they like lots of sauce so I put 2 cups of pinneaple juice to one cup of soy sauce and then doubled it in the recipe. Blended it all up with garlic and three onions and still they wanted more of the delicious sauce. Fried marinated pieces on the pan with the marinade and let half of it evaporate to thicken the sauce and served it over rice. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montessorihouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greystones, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Instead of pear juice, we added half a can of sliced pineapples. It tenderizes the meat. Also, we throw the sauce mixture into a blender, including the onions. Just blend it all together, then soak the meat in this blended mixture. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was a real hit! I did substitute pineapple juice for the pear juice as one reviewer suggested. I also used an organic soy sauce (no MSG) and omitted the MSG. You don't need it as the dish is very flavorful and it's an excito-toxin. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I couldn't find pear juice, so I used the wine..couldn't find sesame seeds, so I left them out...let it marinate for 2 1/2 days, and then stir fried...Wonderful!! Even the two year old liked it--and he isn't a big fan of meat. (Hubby liked it so much he asked me to make if for his mother when she visits this weekend.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is the Best Korean BBQ I ever had, This reminds me of the one I had In CA, the meat is so flavorable, It's a true Korean delicacy. You get 5 Star Rating *****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States