Bulgogi (Korean BBQ) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Tasty tasty, says my kids but like every asian dish I make they like lots of sauce so I put 2 cups of pinneaple juice to one cup of soy sauce and then doubled it in the recipe. Blended it all up with garlic and three onions and still they wanted more of the delicious sauce. Fried marinated pieces on the pan with the marinade and let half of it evaporate to thicken the sauce and served it over rice. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montessorihouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greystones, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I loved the flavor. I marinated the meat for 24 hours. I didn't use any MSG but did add steamed broccoli to the skillet when cooking the meat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
My kids are very picky eaters escpecially when it comes to meat. I let them help make the marinade putting everything in a blender even onions, (as suggested by one viewer) and then we just fried the meat in a pan and had it with white rice. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The recipe was good but a little too salty for me. I would recommend apple or pear juice over white wine. Also please note that monosodium glutamate is the long name for MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I found it too salty, otherwise it was good. I used fruit cocktail juice (not the syrup, but the juice). I also used stewing beef and it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This turned out great! I really like bulgogi and was suprised when I stumbled across this recipe. I used pineapple juice instead of wine, because that's what I had and it made more sense to me. At first I used my grill pan, but when the house got smokey I switch to a large skillet and we liked the meat cooked in the skillet better. I really liked this recipe. I even made it two days in a row. I can't wait to taste it barbequed in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Instead of pear juice, we added half a can of sliced pineapples. It tenderizes the meat. Also, we throw the sauce mixture into a blender, including the onions. Just blend it all together, then soak the meat in this blended mixture. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Unbelievably tasty! Turned out better than our favorite Korean restaurant. I cut back on the black pepper to turn down the spice and used pear juice. A definite favorite in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This dish is fantastic. So full of flavor. I used moose meat instead of beef because we have a freezer full and this is probably one of the best ways I've cooked it. We put it over rice. The kids loved it so much there wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salcha, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States