Bulgogi (Korean BBQ) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I used pork for this and it was still really good. I also added green bell pepper and 1 tsp. chile garlic sauce. However, when I was cooking it, the pork got really tough and chewy. Maybe I will cook it for a shorter time if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I spent a year in Korea back when I was in the Army in the '70s. While there I purchased a Korean Recipe book and perfected making Bulgogi. Along the way I lost the cook book.. This recipe is nearly a perfect reproduction, and may actually be better than what I remember.. Like others have mentioned, I also used pineapple juice... The only change I would make is to reduce the amount of pepper by about 30% or so... But...thanks, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Very tasty, marinated for 2 days, and then cooked it on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
VERY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Definitely should lower the amount of soy sauce. Also, if you don't have pear juice on hand, my mom purees kiwis or adds sprite for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Unbelievable! If you want a taste of paradise, try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very good, smells wonderful! I needed something to go with a soba salad (from this site also), and finally decided to try this. It's been in my list of favorites for a while. After reading and comparing reviews, I doubled mine as this: 3/4 Cup lite soy sauce, 2 Cups pear juice, 6 Tbl white sugar, 4 Tbl minced garlic, 2 Tbl sesame oil, 2 tsp. sesame seeds (toasted), 1/4 tsp black pepper, 2 pound thinly sliced rump roast, green onions and carrots. I marinated for 3 hrs. (to easily thinly slice the meat, freeze for about 2 hrs) I made a reduction from the leftover marinade, and served it with some jasmine rice. Next time, I'll tenderize the meat, to make it more soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very Flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCJHARVEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Accidently added an entire cup of sugar but still came out tasty. I used low sodium soy sauce and used the pears from the canned pears that I used for the juice as part of the marinade. Very tasty and kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpanr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was very good but not quite what I was looking for. We love bulgogi from a restaurant in Reno and that is what I'm searching for. So, the search goes on however, I will be making this again....just wouldnt call it bulgogi. I followed the recipe exactly...well almost. I decided to pan fry the meat so I added all the meat and all the marinade to the pan, cooked it until the meat was done and the marinade boiled down some then added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. We love sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Simple Slow-Cooked Korean Beef Soft Tacos

Not your average taco. This beef taco filling is seasoned with Korean-inspired fl

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States