Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy Green
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
I loved the methodology. I think I'll try some additional spices next time. I might have jumped the gun on the frosting. My guess is mixing longer makes it stiffer and eadier to build with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Followed the recipe as written. Super easy to mix up and handle. I rolled it out on parchment, cut the shapes, removed the excess and they baked up beautifully. I live on a tropical island (80% humidity is normal), and the house has been sitting in an un-airconditioned room since last night and so far it still is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pork_chop
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
this dough worked great definitely saving this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pork_chop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Works well - have to work fast though, while the dough is hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe for building a gingerbread house, but not great for eating. The dough cooks to be very hard and barely rises, so you get a flat surface.. which is great for building with but is crunchy and hard as sheet rock when bitten into. If you want to trim the pieces to have flat square edges- do this right out of the oven! I waited too long and the cookie got too hard to trim up the pieces easily. Definitely add the flour slowly.. you might not need all of it. I didn't use about a 1/3 cup. I also tried microwaving the dough to keep it soft between roll outs- this works really well. Would recommend rolling the dough out almost twice as thick as what's recommended to get a slightly softer more edible result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola Pringle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Everything didn't work except the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is my second year using this recipe. It's unusual because it's a warm dough, but it's really easy to work with, and produces wonderful stiff and strong gingerbread. My recommendations: follow the recipe closely, add dry ingredients gradually, keep the mix over low heat. Also, bake larger pieces together, and smaller pieces together, because baking times are important. By the time the larger pieces bake, the smaller ones will be burned. The dough really keeps its shape, so you can make lots of little shapes to embellish your gingerbread creation. The icing is great, too. Invest in a plastic squeeze bottle, it makes such a difference in how well you can apply it. Also, I use a few pins to hold the walls of a gingerbread house together while the icing is hardening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Kilgore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! Everyone raved about the taste of the gingerbread and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Henley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I spent a long time debating between numerous gingerbread house recipes and decided to try this one first. It worked perfectly! I didn't change a thing. I did follow the advice to measure the flour correctly, spooning it into the measuring cup and I sifted the dry ingredients (except the suger) together. I melted the shortening in a microwave safe bowl instead of melting it over the stove as I didn't want to scratch any of my pots when I mixed the dough together. I also rolled the dough out in between two pieces of parchment paper and did not use any flour. It was perfect. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Awesome. First time making a gingerbread house and the dough tastes awesome, holds up well and was really easy to make. I did change dark corn syrup to molasses because that was what I had. I also used the royal frosting to stick the large pieces together, but for trim and decorations made a very stiff buttercream because I like the taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barwenchfrannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States