Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe for building a gingerbread house, but not great for eating. The dough cooks to be very hard and barely rises, so you get a flat surface.. which is great for building with but is crunchy and hard as sheet rock when bitten into. If you want to trim the pieces to have flat square edges- do this right out of the oven! I waited too long and the cookie got too hard to trim up the pieces easily. Definitely add the flour slowly.. you might not need all of it. I didn't use about a 1/3 cup. I also tried microwaving the dough to keep it soft between roll outs- this works really well. Would recommend rolling the dough out almost twice as thick as what's recommended to get a slightly softer more edible result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola Pringle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Everything didn't work except the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is my second year using this recipe. It's unusual because it's a warm dough, but it's really easy to work with, and produces wonderful stiff and strong gingerbread. My recommendations: follow the recipe closely, add dry ingredients gradually, keep the mix over low heat. Also, bake larger pieces together, and smaller pieces together, because baking times are important. By the time the larger pieces bake, the smaller ones will be burned. The dough really keeps its shape, so you can make lots of little shapes to embellish your gingerbread creation. The icing is great, too. Invest in a plastic squeeze bottle, it makes such a difference in how well you can apply it. Also, I use a few pins to hold the walls of a gingerbread house together while the icing is hardening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! Everyone raved about the taste of the gingerbread and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Henley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I spent a long time debating between numerous gingerbread house recipes and decided to try this one first. It worked perfectly! I didn't change a thing. I did follow the advice to measure the flour correctly, spooning it into the measuring cup and I sifted the dry ingredients (except the suger) together. I melted the shortening in a microwave safe bowl instead of melting it over the stove as I didn't want to scratch any of my pots when I mixed the dough together. I also rolled the dough out in between two pieces of parchment paper and did not use any flour. It was perfect. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Awesome. First time making a gingerbread house and the dough tastes awesome, holds up well and was really easy to make. I did change dark corn syrup to molasses because that was what I had. I also used the royal frosting to stick the large pieces together, but for trim and decorations made a very stiff buttercream because I like the taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barwenchfrannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The only issue I had with the recipe is my own issue of having overly sensitive hands! It was a bit too warm and if it cooled anymore then I let it, it became crumbly. I had to get husband to help HA HA! OTHERWISE, this is a really great recipe and in fact just what I was looking for to build my boys a Gingerbread house! It holds its shape really well, I however would not reccomend eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Worked out well. Very tasty yet crunchy. But for it's purpose, very sturdy. Good frosting too. I made sure it got more stiff by adding more powdered sugar because it held better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found the same problems as many others when it came to a crumbly mess. I improvised by adding a couple eggs and some water to make it a little easier to deal with. That seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shadya
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I never made a gingerbread house before and wanted to try it. Molasses can be difficult to find in Qatar, so I used dark karo syrup and brown sugar. True the recipe was crumbly but did work when it was warmed in the microwave. Used templates and cut the dough with a pizza cutter. Gingerbread dough baked in the time provided and were cooled overnight. Instead of using Royal Icing to put the house together I used heated sugar syrup - 4 cups of sugar plus pasturized egg whites. The glue was great and assembly went quickly. I decorated the house with candy common to Qatar. Really enjoyed the experience of making a ginger bread house. The dough did not spread that much and the walls and roof were sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States