Bug Lady Tofu Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was really delicious. Since I am completey lazy, I threw it all in the food processor. Only sub I made was some red pepper flakes instead of fresh red pepper and dried dill. Didn't measure exactly.. will made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
added 1 more clove of garlic, added 1 carrot, no garlic powder, chilli flakes for chilli pepper & used cuisinart to blend it all. Let it set, delicious! great on toast, dip for chips or veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
It was good! I had to add more of the seasonings at the end, you have to tweak to your preference with this dish i think. I also could only find Extra Firm and Firm Lite so I combined the two. it was really very good. Boyfriend ate half of it before dinner was ready. Great with crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I've made this a few times, and now have it perfected. Use firm tofu rather than silken, you'll get a firmer, more speadable texture. Use the food processor, again, texture. Use two cloves of real garlic, not that revolting powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I took KVCHAN's advise however I am trying to eat dairy free so I did a couple twists to it. I doubled all the spices, I did not add the paprika, dill or the parsley instead I added more cilantro, and I used all green peppers (I am a college student and the other colored pepper are too expensive). I did not add carrots although I may next time. I substituted the mayo with a dairy free soy bean based sour cream. Instead of dry mustard I used added regular mustard. I did not use any eggs.I did add a tablespoon of olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the mix. I used soft tofu. It turned out GREAT!!! Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
not bad, a bit bland - i added some blue cheese salad dressing (i was hosting a party for goodness sakes - it had to be salvaged) and it turned out quite a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
It came out great with a few modifications. i doubled all the spices, i did not add the paprika, dill or the parsley instead i added more cilantro, added red bell peppers and carrots. i also substituted the mayo with sour cream. instead of dry mustard i added regular mustard. i also boiled three eggs and added those of course without the yolks. oops i almost forgot i added some olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the veggies before adding the tofu. i also used extra firm tofu instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
My husband and I loved this. It's a fast, easy recipe and great served with crackers. I might use a little less green pepper next time, but that is what is fun about this recipe, it's very flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I really liked this recipe because of the garlic! My only change was I omitted the celery and bell pepper, used some celery seed and it was delicious and smooth. Perfect on crackers. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I thought this was to bland. I did not add all the garlic, may be that was the reason. I did try to zip it up with chopped green onion and horseradish but it didn't work. It went better with baked chip than raw veggies. My husband and I ate it but everyone else didn't like it very much. I guess we're a bit more adventurous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States