Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good -- I used butter instead of lard & I liked the taste. The texture was good. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was a great recipe that helped me find what my beans were lacking- which is plenty of liquid. I used chicken broth and they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
excellent recipe. This will be my go to refried bean recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It was surprisingly good. I just needed something good enough for a side dish, but everyone loved them! I did substitute 1/2 a cup of butter instead of the lard. I also substituted chicken broth instead of water which was probably what made the recipe so good. I also added 2 cloves, and about 1/4 of an onion for flavor. It did come out a little to runny, so next time I am going to add another can of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were very good. Alot better than canned refried beans. The only change I made was to use olive oil instead of lard since i have no idea where to get lard. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! I hate the canned refried beans but didn't want to take the time to make them from scratch. I used bacon grease instead of lard. I also added in fresh garlic and about a half cup of onions to the grease before I added in the beans. I also followed someone else's advise and added in hot chicken stock instead of water. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I would have never thought about making these, except that I was out of canned refried beans, and needed them for a recipe. Wow, am I glad I did. So simple, and so much better than the soupy canned kind. I never have lard on hand, so I used canola oil instead. I will never buy canned refried beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I have made this a few times now. Started with the basic recipe and in the end have made a couple of changes. The first is to replace the water with chicken broth. Added 1/2 teaspoon each of garlic powder, cumin, and chili powder. I serve it topped with shreaded mexican blend cheese, a little taco sauce, and diced green onions. I will not buy canned refried beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
VERY simple and cheap. I made mine as the main dish with corn bread on the side because well, really all I had in the house were some soaked pink beans I'd prepped a few weeks before. I used butter (no lard available) and since I'd simmered the beans in chicken stock, I just used that as my liquid. I thought I should skip the salt but didn't and think i ought to have skipped the salt, it was too salty. But that was my fault. Butter worked fine, Pink Beans worked fine, topped with cheddar (it was all I had)and went well with the Blue Cornbread recipe I found on this web site (I highly recommend the corn bread if you like sweet cornbread). Not bad. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are the best homemade refried beans ever! I happened to be cooking bacon for another use, so I used half butter, half bacon grease (no lard on hand). And, I used the liquid from the beans instead of water. Very few dishes in my kitchen escape without garlic, so a good heaping Tbsp. of minced garlic and a small can of diced green chiles sauteed in the bacon grease before adding the beans worked perfectly. And, I topped the beans with grated Pepper Jack cheese. Mmmm.... My family is still shocked that they are getting real refried beans, not out of a can, at home! We even like these better than our favorite Mexican restaurant's. Thank you Buffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States