Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Very good recipie!! Easy quick and very tasty! I did not have any pinto beans so I used black beans instead. Also as another user had said that you could substitue butter for the lard and since I don't have any lard I used butter. I will deffinatly make this again per the instructions and I'm sure it will taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were super bland to us, although I do love how EASY they were to make!!! I used butter flavored shortening instead of the lard and added: 1 Tbs. salt, 1 tsp. pepper, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1/8 tsp. cumin. We loved them doctored up and will probably never buy canned refried beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany0424

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I will never buy canned refried beans again. These are SO much better. I used butter instead of lard, and We like things spicy, so I added a diced jalapeno, a couple chopped garlic cloves, and some chopped onion to the butter and sauteed that briefly before adding the beans. I could make a meal just out of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Mmmmm... LARD! Sorry had to say it. I cut some of the fat out and it was still way too greasy, also needed SPICES... garlic, salt, onion etc. There are other recipes on AR that I prefer... especially the 'beans without the re-fry'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
First time attempting to make a home-made type of bean dish...this was easy and oh so delicious! In fact, we had some friends over for dinner that just raved about how delicious they were(woo hoo) I didn't have lard on hand, so my beans were made with 1/2 cup vegetable oil and the cup of water was replaced by 1 cup of the pinto bean juice heated with tablespoon chicken buillion for added flavor! I topped beans with shredded monterey jack and it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracydenese29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I followed the advice of another and added butter instead of lard. This yielded terrific beans just like those in our favorite restaurant. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I scaled this down for 2 people, used butter and added garlic and chili powder. I left out the salt and used a potato masher to mash the beans once they went into the pot. I used hot water, as others suggested. These are amazingly delicious!! Next time I'll add some dried chilies and try it with chicken stock instead of water. I'll never buy that nasty canned stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I love refried beans. I tried making them from scratch with dried beans from another recipe on this site. They took all day and they tasted nothing like the ones from the restarants. This tastes JUST LIKE the beans in the Mexican restaurants. With that being said. I scaled the recipe down to just me. With one can of pinto beans. I also used oil and not lard like a lot of posts listed. And, I used about a tablespoon or so. I heated the oil. While heating I opened and drained the can of pinto beans. Then I mashed the beans once I added them to the hot oil. With the oil you will not need any water. If you add it do it a teaspoon at a time. And, with the beans even drained they are loaded with salt, so it is not even needed. Only 5 minutes to restarant beans. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good -- I used butter instead of lard & I liked the taste. The texture was good. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was a great recipe that helped me find what my beans were lacking- which is plenty of liquid. I used chicken broth and they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States