Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Hurray for lard! This recipe is awesome--exactly what i was looking for in the middle of a blizzard when my pantry was nearly bare. The only thing i suggest is to start with dry beans. Soak overnight and slow-cook until soft, then use in place of the canned beans. You'll need a bit more salt or other seasoning, but you'll save yourself some money as well as unnecessary preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
4.5 stars as I could tell recipe would be a little bland for myself but great method and jumping off point. I cook up dry pinto beans (inexpensive & easy to cook in crock pot or pressure cooker) and can be done day in advance. Anyway...I did use lard (I make myself) while bumping up flavor-wise (Chili powder/cumin/garlic/coriander/minced jalapeno/grn onion). Used my reserved bean "juice" vs water and I 're-fry' in a large cast iron 'chicken fryer' skillet. Be mindful about adding salt until very end because as these cook down salt will intensify (especially using canned beans). I make a larger batch to portion out and freeze. Very handy to have for future uses! All in all, very little work & much better then store bought. After about 15 mins of simmering/stirring I use a masher to help things along when liquid added in. Takes me about 30 minutes total. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
So good, I don't think I will buy can refried beans again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Huge hit! I only gave a 4 star due to minor tweeks. Instead of water I used chicken stock, chopped garlic..about 4 cloves, and 1/2 to 1 tsp of cumin. I also cooked up half a tube of churizo and added half the beans into that when they were done..very good! FYI a potato masher is a dream come true when mashing the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used a lager instead of water and vegan butter instead of lard but the results were very tasty- if the consistency isn't exactly what you were looking for just adjust the liquid or let it evaporate a bit longer. I did add a few shakes of achiote for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm not exactly an expert on refried beans, but where I live you get them out of a can or not at all. No longer! This recipe made making refried beans quick and easy. Even using canned beans this had a nice fresh taste. I used butter, as suggested by another reviewer and tossed in a little bit of salsa (small amount) with the water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
First time making refried beans and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made these with lard. Used chicken broth and added garlic and a dash of cumin. These were good, but I cooked too long, thinking they would be better and they got dried out. Super easy. I will make again, but won't cook so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
i like this style recipe for the beans better than the vegetarian ones. i don't like the idea of using lard so i substituted vegetable shortening in the same quantity...makes for a much creamier taste. also i added cumin, salt and pepper and a touch of garlic onion with a little salsa in the final mix. my girls ate it like it was going out of style. usually my recipes miss out on account of kitchen inexperience, but this one was an absolute winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States