Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Fantastic! Used butter instead of lard (no lard on-hand) and just the bean juice from the can. No salt. So, basically just 1/2 c. butter and 3 cans of pinto beans. DELICIOUS! I didn't know making refried beans could be so easy--and tasty. Thanks, Buffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Hurray for lard! This recipe is awesome--exactly what i was looking for in the middle of a blizzard when my pantry was nearly bare. The only thing i suggest is to start with dry beans. Soak overnight and slow-cook until soft, then use in place of the canned beans. You'll need a bit more salt or other seasoning, but you'll save yourself some money as well as unnecessary preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
4.5 stars as I could tell recipe would be a little bland for myself but great method and jumping off point. I cook up dry pinto beans (inexpensive & easy to cook in crock pot or pressure cooker) and can be done day in advance. Anyway...I did use lard (I make myself) while bumping up flavor-wise (Chili powder/cumin/garlic/coriander/minced jalapeno/grn onion). Used my reserved bean "juice" vs water and I 're-fry' in a large cast iron 'chicken fryer' skillet. Be mindful about adding salt until very end because as these cook down salt will intensify (especially using canned beans). I make a larger batch to portion out and freeze. Very handy to have for future uses! All in all, very little work & much better then store bought. After about 15 mins of simmering/stirring I use a masher to help things along when liquid added in. Takes me about 30 minutes total. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
So good, I don't think I will buy can refried beans again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Huge hit! I only gave a 4 star due to minor tweeks. Instead of water I used chicken stock, chopped garlic..about 4 cloves, and 1/2 to 1 tsp of cumin. I also cooked up half a tube of churizo and added half the beans into that when they were done..very good! FYI a potato masher is a dream come true when mashing the beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used a lager instead of water and vegan butter instead of lard but the results were very tasty- if the consistency isn't exactly what you were looking for just adjust the liquid or let it evaporate a bit longer. I did add a few shakes of achiote for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm not exactly an expert on refried beans, but where I live you get them out of a can or not at all. No longer! This recipe made making refried beans quick and easy. Even using canned beans this had a nice fresh taste. I used butter, as suggested by another reviewer and tossed in a little bit of salsa (small amount) with the water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
First time making refried beans and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made these with lard. Used chicken broth and added garlic and a dash of cumin. These were good, but I cooked too long, thinking they would be better and they got dried out. Super easy. I will make again, but won't cook so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States