Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is IT! I won't try any other refried recipes, I am a happy girl. Soaked 3 cups dried pintos overnight, then drained & cooked this morning for 1.5 hours with half an onion in it. Tossed the onion, drained beans & reserved the liquid and followed the directions including lard. This is exactly like the authentic Mexican restaurants in the area... I kept sneaking back for tastes of it! I did add 1/4 tsp garlic pwd, 1/2 tsp each cumin & chili pwd, and 1 tsp chicken bouillon added to my bean liquid. As others say, go easy on the salt, you can always add a bit more at the end. With the bouillon, I only needed 1 tsp salt, and could have maybe used a tad less. For those who didn't use lard, you really should buy some. It gives it a much better flavor than just veggie oil. It's called Manteca and you can usually find a white & green container of it in the Mexican aisle at Walmart or ask about it at your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
If you're looking for the best refried beans recipe ever, you can stop right here because you found it. If someone would have told me that I could make better beans at home than I've had in ANY restaurant, I wouldn't have believed it, but it's the truth. Here were my modifications: I used two cans of mixed beans (pinto and northern) and two cans of pinto beans. I used 1 and 1/3 cup of chicken broth instead of water. I added some dried cilantro, a teaspoon of home made taco seasoning, and a finely diced onion. I'm sure this recipe would have been wonderful without the modifications as well. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
A little too muc lard for me, will cut that back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ulla, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I loved these! I never could seem to get mine creamy. The only thing I changed was to use bacon fat instead of lard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Made my own lard by rendering fat from a pork shoulder. This recipe calls for lard and this one simple ingrediant makes it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These beans were delicious. I did not have lard on hand, so I used Crisco instead. I also added about a 1/4 tsp of ground cumin. These are the standard refried beans for our Mexican nights now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bremen, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This really didn't have much flavor. I chose to perk my beans up by adding a few spices and some quesadilla cheese I had on hand. After adding cheese, ground white pepper, a little cumin and marjoram and thyme I had a delicious filling for my Mexican dishes and a smooth and creamy side. It's a good base recipe to work from, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Made with fresh cooked beans, 2 cups to a can. Made a batch and a half. Had to use butter as had no lard... Pretty darn good but slightly, well, sweet. Added a good measure of garlic salt and 1/2 tbsp chili powder. Husband says they are the best refried beans he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJGammon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calera, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
i have been searching for the refried beans that taste just like the ones back home in AZ, these are pretty dang close and so simple too. thanks for posting this one!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used dry pinto beans I cooked, and subbed bacon drippings for lard. I mashed with a potatoe masher and let it cook for a good 1/2 hour (maybe my beans weren't cooked long enough?) Added about 2 cups of water overall, in 1/2 cup increments. They are so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States