Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I make my beans kinda like that...I use a stick of butter, a bunch or garlic and jalapeno to taste. I keep them from getting to thick by adding a bit of stock. At the last minute I add a bit of lime juice. Delish~ Top with cheese, sour cream and avocado. Eat with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OMG...This was by far the best and easiest refried bean recipe,ever!!!It tastes better than the mexican restaurant.Its not the clumped mess you get in the can-obviously!!I did not use lard but alittle bacon fat and mashed them with water to get the perfect consistancy.I also added some Southwest seasoning I recieved from a friend that visited San Antonio-TX..Suckle Busters Texas Gold Dust...AWESOME!!!!I will never go back to the CAN again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I tried this tonight. I used the beans to make bean tostados. Instead of adding water to thin the beans, I reserved the juice from the can and added that. It gives much more flavor. I won't buy another can of refried beans again. Thanks for this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is how I have made home made refried beans for 30+ years except I ALWAYS use saved bacon fat instead of lard even though they are the same thing. Yes it's ok to use rendered pork fat of some sort. I use 2 lbs of dried pinto beans soaked over night and cooked the next day with the desired Latin spices added to the cooking water. When mashing them I use some of the cooking liquid as needed to get them to the desired consistency. After mashing they go into a large cast iron skillet with the bacon fat melted and very hot. It takes 2 batches to do 2 lbs of beans but worth the time. After stirring several times I adjust seasonings for flavor, turn off the heat, let them cool and portion them into zip top bags for freezing. This way I always have ready made refried beans on hand and don't have to use canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delicious! Will never buy canned beans again. I took the suggestions from another reviewer and used chicken broth in place of water and added garlic and cumin. And I used the lard, which I think made ALL the difference in taste. Thank you for the recipe Buffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very easy! I started from scratch using raw pinto beans that I cooked in a slowcooker until done and easily smashed. I then fryed in pan with a little butter and garlic.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I didn't have any lard so I used Bacon. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
LOVE!!! I also substituted the lard for butter because that is all I had. Turned out fabulous!!!! After it was done cooking I put it in the blender and let it mash them for me! So yummy and so much easier than crock pot versions. Printed and saved it for all of my future refried beans needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I am Mexican and this is how we have always made our beans. They are the best! But if you don't have lard on hand, you can use the drippings from fried chicken, or bacon drippings. Another thing I do (because my palate is so particular) is, go to your local Mexican Market and buy lard from them because it's fresh drippings from the pork they cook in their store, free of preservatives or other unnecessary additives that I can taste in the store bought lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Amaro Prince

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States