Buffalochef's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Using chilled butter is horrid. It was a pain to mix so next time I'd soften it beforehand. I skipped the ginger and used a full pound of defrosted and drained frozen rhubarb. I did my best to drain the fruit mixture well and had no problems with it setting up. I also brushed the crust with egg white. I had to cover the edges with foil half way through but that's not a big deal. Make sure to check it though so you don't burn your crust. I'm not normally a fan of strawberry rhubarb pie but this was great! It was a big hit at the party I took it to. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Beginning cook appreciated the details on a lattice pie crust. Wonderful recipe. Makes a robust pie with great flavores. Made it exactly as written and let it set up until room temp and it was perfect. I did not have trouble with the crust burning. In fact I had to leave it in for 60 minutes for it to brown nicely. Warmed before serving and served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Live in Florida,so a friend of the family brought rhubarb from NY. I tried this recipe.Everyone enjoyed it and the pie was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I made it just as the directions said and it was a big hit. Although, you should plan to have a lot of time to put this whole thing together, especially if you make a homemade crust, which I did using this lovely recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/ruths-grandmas-pie-crust/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We thought this was just ok. It didn't have the tartness that we like from rhubarb pie. I did use frozen rhubarb and strawberries, so that might be why. Or it could be from the spices, egg and lots of sugar. I did a latice top, I didn't cover it while baking and it didn't burn. For those that had burning issues, it could be your oven is hot. Mine is about 25 degrees hotter than what the dial says. Or it could be the crust I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is my first time to rate a recipe and this one definitely deserves 5 stars all the way! The ginger really adds great flavor so don't skip it~ I will definitely make this again and again! The only advice is to make sure you put the baking sheet underneath while the pie is baking, I put tin foil over a sheet and drippings still overflowed into the bottom of my oven... The pie was so good that the mess was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a beautiful pie - the flavours work really well together. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect. One of my guests, a friend for over 40 years, said this is the best pie you ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Sooo Delicious! I got many compliments!!! Did not change a thing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was my first attempt at a lattice top pie as well as my first attempt at a strawberry rhubarb pie. The flavors were wonderful but I did run into a few problems. 1) The crust cooks quickly and should have been completely covered with aluminum to prevent it from over cooking. I took the pie out early to prevent burning but then not all of the rhubarb was thoroughly cooked. 2) This is a very runny filling. I will probably add tapioca flour and reduce the number of eggs to 2. Also, I think it would be worth letting the fruit sit in the sugar in the fridge overnight and then straining out the excess juice. I will also be adding more fruit as I like my pies bulging with fruity goodness! Thanks for the great inspiration though. The crystalized ginger really makes this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is amazing. Love the ginger and the streusel. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States