Buffalo Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was excellent!! At age 73 I like spicy foods, but not KILLER spicy. I omitted the cayenne pepper from the sauce--turned out to be perfect for me. As another viewer suggested, I left the shrimp in the bag after the first shaking, refrigerated it for about 20 minutes while I finished my scotch and water and the deep fryer was heating to temperature, and then sifted excess flour off. Placed in the deep fryer for 3 minutes, removed and covered with the sauce. PERFECTOMENTO!! I served it to myself with a spinach salad with mushrooms, hard boiled eggs, bacon bits, and the spinach dressing from another contributer to this site. I highly recommend this to any young, middle-age, or senior citizen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I'm the person who orginally entered this recipe. We tried something different the last time we made it - we dipped the shrimp in egg and then flour, then repeated this. It put a heavier coating on the shrimp. My husband like this way better, I still prefer the original recipe. Just thought I'd share this information with you...Janet Roetzel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
If you don't like spicy, this isn't the recipe for you if you don't have the sense to adjust it to your own taste! I made these tonight, my husband isn't even a big shrimp fan but he really liked these. Although there is no way I'm cooking anything that calls for 4 cups of oil for deep frying, I followed the instructions to a T and sprayed them with Pam, broiled them and then tossed them in the sauce. EXCELLENT!!! A definite keeper, thank you Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I used collassal shrimp and a fry baby type deep fryer and found that this is the way to go with the really big shrimp. Take them out as soon as they just turn golden. I've made rubber out of the big shrimp when boiling or grilling or they aren't done enough. These are fantastic. We love Buffalo Chicken Wings and I have a standard recipe I use for the sauce using Frank's Hot sauce (it's slightly garlicky as it is) and butter. I used that instead of making the sauce in the recipe. These were terrific! I've made them several times so far and I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was an easy dinner to prepare. I served it with rice and garlic bread for a complete meal. For the coating, I left the shrimp in the bag for the 15 minutes, then shook them again (someone else suggested it) as opposed to laying the shrimp out on a cookie sheet in the fridge. My suggestion is to remove the tails, for simpler eating. And, instead of making the suggested "hot sauce" I just microwaved some butter with Frank's Hot Sauce -- worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
My husband and I could have eaten twice as much shrimp as I actually made. As a vegetable I used the flour mixture to coat big chunks of zucchini and fried them too... what a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Always a hit! This is a poker night favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Wonderful! Thought it was a simple recipe however it had GREAT taste. Just a word of caution though to those who are sensitive to spicy food, my fiance thought it was a little too hot. I, however, thought it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
These were sooo good! We will be having these again and again. I made cheesy ranch new red potatoes( from this site) and the flavors went really well together. Next time I'll do some chicken wings using this recipe as well. Would be great for a party or get together as well as part of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made this recipe tonight for dinner, it was excellent! It was fairly easy to prepare and was pretty much like something you'd order in a restaurant. It wasn't super crispy it was tender-crispy. I made two pounds of shrimp instead of one and didn't have to double anything else the flour was enough, I just made a bit more sauce. Oh yes I heated the butter and garlic in the microwave to soften it up and then added the hot sauce, then drained it to get rid of the garlic so as not to scare my husband too much (he gets heartburn). It really was scrumptious. This is the first time I ever made buffalo shrimp....great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States