Buffalo Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
tastes just like hot wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a big hit! It was delicioso! The only thing I did differently was I skipped the cayenne pepper and only tossed the shrimp in the flour and seasonings just once. And I used buffalo sauce instead of the hot pepper sauce. Turned out excellent. I used a little over 30 shrimps and it was more than enough. I thank you for having such a wonderful recipe and sharing it with us. If I have a family dinner party to attend opr having guests over my home....this will def be on the table! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I held back on the cayenne in the buffalo sauce since my husband doesn't like real spicy food. This time he liked it and I thought it was too spicy. I think next time I will hold off on placing my portion in the sauce and just dip them in when I want the flavor. I did not deep fry, pan fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Frye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I DID dip the shrimp in an egg wash before coating with the flour mix to give it a "heaver" coating & it turned out great. I also added a little orange juice to the Buffalo sauce to add a little sweetness and cut back on the butter, squeezed with fresh lemon while hot & served with a home-made Blue Cheese Coleslaw & 5-Cheese Garlic Bread =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is amazing! My husband isn't much on spicy foods but he loves these shrimp. I always buy 2 lbs of fresh shrimp just for this and there is never any leftovers. I will say, I don't put as much pepper in the hot sauce to keep the "kick" down. Also, since I make this so often, I keep the ziplock bag sealed up and in the freezer for the next time to reduce waste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
these were tasty.. i used the creole recipe from here for the creole style seasoning, and intensified the seasoning the shrimp recipe called for by adding some ground habanero.. i used franks hot sauce and a few splashes of El Yucateco Salsa Picante de Chile habanero,.. I like my wings intense... I served with homemade fries and truffle cream, which i got from diners, drive-ins, and dives.. AFTER I fried the fries once, i dusted them with the left over flour for the buffalo shrimp and fried them again for a minute.. they were perfect.. i topped the fries with the truffle cream and instead of using ranch or blue cheese for the shrimp, used a side of the truffle cream for dipping... this was SCRUMPTIOUS.. THANKS FOR the recipe.. i enjoy the fact it was light and not heavy on the batter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwyzawondercook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Such a great recipe! I followed some of the other reviewers advice: left them in the bag and did not deep fry, cooked on the skillet instead. Still came out amazing! Also I dipped them in buttermilk and then threw them in the bag. A quick and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was amazing. My wife doesn't normally eat stuff with buffalo sauce on it, but using some Tabasco Garlic sauce and butter as the buffalo sauce instead of the recipe's really made this a nice mild heat. Definitely going to do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I was lazy and didn't add all the extra seasonings into the flour mixture, which I used half corn meal and half flour, just used the creole-style seasoning. Delicious. I left some without sauce for the kids. I'm using the leftover buffalo shrimp on my salad today for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Fabulous! I took one reviewers suggestion -- sprayed with pam and broiled for 2 minutes each side. The result was a healthy AND yummy shrimp appetizer! Also, I dredged half in flour once as originally suggested, and with the other half, I ran through egg yolk and dredged a second time. The result was a thicker, heavier coating, again very yummy. The twice-dredged shrimp needed an extra minute under the broiler to crisp up. This was so easy to make and a nice alternative to the boring chicken wings. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States