Buffalo Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
OK, so we have a sports bar in our area called Taco Mac, which features my favorite menu item when eating out, Angry Shrimp. This is close to that recipe. I tweaked it just a bit to make it more closely match Taco Mac's version. I used large shrimp from Costco, which I removed the tails because they are enormous even without them and much easier to eat. I used a blended Canola/Soybean Oil to fry them in. The sauce was actual just the butter and a healthy portion of Taco Mac Wing Sauce(I bought a bottle at our local TM) These were near dead on to Taco Mac's version. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cableguyxx
Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My fiance absolutely loved this recipe! We usually eat buffalo wings and shrimp at Hooters and he said this was better than their recipe! I only used 12 oz of raw large shrimp and I peeled them and took the tails off instead. I also marinated the shrimp for about an hour in Franks, garlic and cayenne pepper before coating them with flour. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callie pryor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I always love Buffalo Shrimp at places like Chili's or TGI Friday's... but have never made them at home. I tried this recipe and loved it! I used Frank's Hot Sauce as the base and added the ingredients below. I didn't change anything and it was fantastic!! Only thing I did was after taking the shrimp out of the oil, I brushed the buffalo sauce on rather than dipping it. They were great!! I"m keeping the sauce to use on BBQ chicken to make Buffalo chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is To-Die-For!!! So delicious! I followed the recipe as written and it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
tastes just like hot wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a big hit! It was delicioso! The only thing I did differently was I skipped the cayenne pepper and only tossed the shrimp in the flour and seasonings just once. And I used buffalo sauce instead of the hot pepper sauce. Turned out excellent. I used a little over 30 shrimps and it was more than enough. I thank you for having such a wonderful recipe and sharing it with us. If I have a family dinner party to attend opr having guests over my home....this will def be on the table! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I held back on the cayenne in the buffalo sauce since my husband doesn't like real spicy food. This time he liked it and I thought it was too spicy. I think next time I will hold off on placing my portion in the sauce and just dip them in when I want the flavor. I did not deep fry, pan fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I DID dip the shrimp in an egg wash before coating with the flour mix to give it a "heaver" coating & it turned out great. I also added a little orange juice to the Buffalo sauce to add a little sweetness and cut back on the butter, squeezed with fresh lemon while hot & served with a home-made Blue Cheese Coleslaw & 5-Cheese Garlic Bread =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is amazing! My husband isn't much on spicy foods but he loves these shrimp. I always buy 2 lbs of fresh shrimp just for this and there is never any leftovers. I will say, I don't put as much pepper in the hot sauce to keep the "kick" down. Also, since I make this so often, I keep the ziplock bag sealed up and in the freezer for the next time to reduce waste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
these were tasty.. i used the creole recipe from here for the creole style seasoning, and intensified the seasoning the shrimp recipe called for by adding some ground habanero.. i used franks hot sauce and a few splashes of El Yucateco Salsa Picante de Chile habanero,.. I like my wings intense... I served with homemade fries and truffle cream, which i got from diners, drive-ins, and dives.. AFTER I fried the fries once, i dusted them with the left over flour for the buffalo shrimp and fried them again for a minute.. they were perfect.. i topped the fries with the truffle cream and instead of using ranch or blue cheese for the shrimp, used a side of the truffle cream for dipping... this was SCRUMPTIOUS.. THANKS FOR the recipe.. i enjoy the fact it was light and not heavy on the batter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwyzawondercook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States